December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Torch

by ahnt - Jam Entry

You have to guide a group of five villagers through a dark cave, the problem is that "you only got one torch" and the darkness is very dangerous. Solve puzzles i this very dark and thrilling game. Best played with headphones!

Click anywhere on the floor and the leader will move there and the others follow. You can click and drag the others and make them wait in the dark, but remember the darkness is lethal!

Avoid monsters lurking in the dark, and overcome obstacles. Spiders always attack the one closest to them, can you use that for your advantage?

This game is a coproduction, participants listed in alphabetical order:
Clifford Bohm (mostly game design)
Arend Hintze (mostly code)
Thomas Leonard (mostly level graphic)
David Phillips (mostly animation and graphic)
Jorden Schossau (mostly sound and music)

Enjoy, cheers Arend

--- We found that some people get stuck in the first level ... walk to the other arch and gather all your people there, a little box will appear at the bottom right click it to proceed to the next level, hurry otherwise the spider will get you! ---

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#59Theme(Jam)3.58
#76Mood(Jam)3.56
#133Graphics(Jam)3.80
#144Innovation(Jam)3.24
#166Overall(Jam)3.32
#230Audio(Jam)3.01
#355Fun(Jam)2.64
#373Humor(Jam)1.96

Comments

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Cool graphics

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Great graphics and it seems like a very unique puzzle solving game. I like the mechanics of moving your followers but I'm struggling getting past the first spider. Perhaps I'm missing something? Overall I can see what you are trying to do and I like it :)

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01am

Very beautiful game, and nice concept. A little too slow for me personally, but objectively, this is a very nice game. Good job!

dekkuran says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03am

I couldn't get past the first level. I'm very confused if you are meant to attack the spider or not? It doesn't seem like you can. But there's nothing in the cage you let it out of and you can't exit through the other door.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

fun game with cool graphics. good work

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

Pretty neat! Would've been nice if mechanics were introduced more gradually.

funselektor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice to see another 3D Unity game!
I couldn't get past the first level either, my dudes would step on that button and then cant go into the tunnel.
The lighting and colors are very nice.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

Woaw ! Game mechanics are crazy, I was really scared when a guy I left starting to scream ! I really felt like I was this leader ! Good job, graphics are simply amazing ! Very nice entry guys

Globe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25am

Unique puzzle! Love it! Where's the swords to combat those spiders!

WizardPro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

One of the more polished games I've seen so far. Very atmospheric.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47am

The game is too slow for my personal taste. It felt really repetitive until I got to the spider, and then I couldn't figure out how to proceed. It might be worth sticking some instructions in the game description? If a spider bite is lethal, and as far as I can see, no way to avoid being bit, what do you do? o.o

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice "puzzle" concept! I like the controls (waiting / following) and the fact the followers don't get immediatly eating or whatever when they go in the darkness. Haven't played long enough to find out what happens to them though lol.
One of my favorites entries though so far, and good thing you added camera movement controls for a game like this! :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice Graphics! Well done.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Thankyou for web! Graphic is cool! And style is great. But gameplay is too hard

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Great setting, and follows the theme really well.
I'm not personally a fan of the controls and their responsiveness, but the overall gameplay is interesting and pretty fun.
The audio really makes the mood though.

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

good graphics and an amazing concept

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

nice visuals for the tutorial. Sounds very complicated but after a short time of practicing everything feels great. Cool Graphics... Hard to solve the puzzles... well done game at all.

gene-z says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

nice game, good work...

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I love this concept as a puzzle game. I'd like to see it expanded upon!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:00am

Wow. Modeling, texturing, rigging, animation, collision, pathfinding... very impressive! cool voices/ambient soundscape! You start really feeling for those fellows you have to leave behind on a pressure plate... in the DARK muahahaha ;)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great job! Fits the theme quite well.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

The visuals are stunning, the animations alone were really well done. I had a fair amount of difficulty figuring out what to do to effectively finish a level. By the time I finally figured it out I had already lost interest sadly.

In the first level I thought that you were supposed to somehow get through to the spot the spider actually comes from, since it appeared to be the main "passageway" and I knew pushing the button unlocked it. I was surprised to find that the exit was right by the button, and that you have to click exit to actually leave.

Well "why have the exit right by the button" I thought to myself. It was just sort of odd I thought because this setup didn't take advantage of any of the gameplay aspects I was just introduced to from the start. Making people wait in corners so that the spider wouldn't see them or something while we snuck around it was the approach I thought was needed.

I think the main problem people like me are having with the games first level is that the exit isn't very identifiable. It's sort of tucked off at the edge and is discreet. Some people may also not be noticing the exit button you need to press to move on.

Overall I really like the visuals and atmosphere, but some of the design decisions made it difficult to understand where exactly the game expects you to go in the beginning.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51am

Very nice Lighting and sfx. Puts you in the mood. You can build a really nice game upon this.

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice concept and mechanics, interesting puzzles, but a little slow.

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:38am

I really enjoyed playing this, and not because I also made a "one torch" LD game :). I got stuck on the 7th level. I'm pretty sure I have the right solution, but bridges keep collapsing when people are safely on the other side. Other than that, though, this is a lovely entry.

PS. You get past the spider by baiting him with one of your guys to move the rest across and then come back for him when you can move more quickly. (at least that's how I did it).

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:06am

This is absolutely stunning- I really hope to see a polished version of this with better controls.
Got stuck at level 5, baiting that spider was way too frustrating.

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49am

That spider bite sure is deadly. I laughed at how the guys got petrified and fell over stiff and dead. Overall I like this concept but, like others, I have no idea how to get past the spider.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

Nice mood. The hailing leader scares me;-)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Amazing mood and audio effects, it has an eerie aura to it. Gameplay is interesting but gets a little monotonous. Still, I really enjoyed the exploration of the levels.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Well done! I liked puzzles, and visuals are also looking nice. The only real letdown for me was pacing, a bit slow for my taste.

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Nice game! Especially the mood and audio. Fun and fits the theme well. :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:14am

Is his hand a torch?
This game doesn't make sense to me but, it definitely looks really cool! I love the lighting!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Very cool game mechanics, great work for 3 days!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Neat idea. I like the caveman models and lighting. The torch idea is good too for the theme. Great entry.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Good graphics and ambience!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Wow this game is scary ! It's immersive, the sound is really good. Challenging game !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]