December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

My First Day at the Snowman Kit Factory!

by Loren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!!GOTY EDITION!!!

Welcome to work!

You've just accepted the role of 'Authorized Kit Quality Assurance Technician' at the local snowman kit manufacturing facility.

The job is simple. Make sure each kit contains the following:

1 Hat
1 Scarf
2 Pieces of coal
2 Sticks for arms
1 genuine plastic carrot nose

As the items come down the holly jolly conveyor belt, they will stop at your station for a brief quality check. If everything looks great(as of course our products are amazing!), do nothing and the kit will be forwarded to shipping.

If the product does not meet expectations, hit that big REJECT button (with happy blinking light goodness) and we'll make it... disappear.

Good luck, don't mess up. You only have one chance at this miracle job.

(This was created in about an hour, I may put together a post compo with a sweet sleigh bell track that loops and loops and loops and...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#240Humor2.94
#551Graphics2.82
#584Innovation2.78
#641Mood2.56
#703Audio1.89
#723Theme2.47
#835Overall2.56
#926Fun2.09

Comments

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52am

Owns much bones. The essence of game design captured in masterful strokes, never displaying a moment of doubt.

Kudos, sir. Kudos.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

I really like the idea. You actually did something other than "you only get one life". Would have probably been better if it was an "approve" button instead, as the player is left not interacting at all for long periods of time as is. Also, there could be some sort of upgrades to spend the money on.

Either way, good job.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Interesting concept, but very monotonous.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice graphics, interesting idea, but not very fun :(

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

agreed!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Xmas sweatshop :-)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

"FAILURE! FAILURE FAILURE!" Heh. Quite good for just an hour.

Lyje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Would need more to break monotony after a while, but a nice concept.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Good concept, nice graphics, and an excellent simulation of being QA for a conveyor belt. Unfortunately, the main difficulty for that job is fighting boredom, which is probably the least useful enemy for a game.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

This is one of the most creative games I have seen so far.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Obviously, there was supposed to be 7 carrots in the same package xD

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good simple game, captures the essence of factory life.

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Great for something made in an hour xD Great stuff man xD

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Impressive what can be made in an hour!

gnerkus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I'll echo Coblynau's comment by saying it captures the essence of factory life. I would have preferred if it didn't, though. It's a little too passive most of the time. A little music would have spiced it up a bit.

This game is very, very good for a one hour jam. I wonder what you'd have done if you had used 48 hours (I've seen your awesome art on your website).

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Pretty interesting idea a "factory worker simulator".

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Great for just 1 hour, I felt the same discomfort (as in a good way, for mood) as I felt while playing "Papers Please". Nice.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31pm

It was fun at the start but needs something added to it to mix it up a bit, liked the graphics and did feel a bit nervous getting 6 good kits in a row.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Great Job getting a complete game out. Simple but creative.

yatan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:16am

Nice graphics for an one hour game :)

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:40pm

This is chore, not game... makes me appreciate my life a bit more as I'd probably die if I had to work like this :)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice concept. I wish there was a "approve" button. Not fun.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:02am

Interesting ideas... please try to expand it to have more levels with different items.... and release it for iOS :) It would be great to have an Accept button as well.. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]