December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boulder Boomerang

by Kikkers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One guy, One boulder and some sinister looking stapler removers.

Made with Libgdx. Sadly, couldn't get html version to work.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#216Innovation3.37
#245Fun3.26
#334Humor2.63
#414Overall3.11
#451Graphics3.00
#469Theme2.93
#497Audio2.52
#534Mood2.70

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13am

Great game! Simple, but a lot of fun.

Dying is more hilarious than frustrating, especially if you accidentally boulder yourself. Monochrome graphics are cool.

Not much else to say! Overall 4/5!

PS: My game was made with libgdx too, and the web build wouldn't work either. argh!

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24am

@Steve I got the web build to run, but keyboard input wouldn't work. Better luck next time, i guess.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Simple game, very fun to play, I love the visuals and it runs well apart from the web version :D

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58pm

The concept is definitely unique. Well done

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

cool game, I enjoy trying to use the spin unfortunately I am terrible at it also at bowling so it stands to reason.

lparker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very simple and a lot of fun as well.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Enjoyable! Appreciated the score mechanic, it really kept me interested once I figured out that the spin of the boulder only comes into effect when it hits the wall. =)

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Simple and fun.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I like the look of the game. The spinning ball to choose the second roll direction tripped me up more than it was actually helpful, but it was fun to try it and occasionally it worked out. :) Nice game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

The game is entertaining.
As a first time player, I missed a feedback for not being able to throw the ball sometimes.

Kikkers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

Thanks for the kind comments, guys!
@joserodolfofreitas Yeah, that was quite finnicky. I wanted to avoid players simply placing the boulder on a baddie, but I couldn't think of a good way to illustrate it. Indeed, it could be improved

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

Simple and fun! I also submitted a boomerang game, though it's very very different! Tell me what you think :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

A pretty cool game once you get into the mindset of controlling the second direction of the boulder. The enemy AI worked really well for the gameplay.

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really fun but challenging game after you get the hang of it. I don't get the people who say it's simple.
5/5

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58am

Pretty cool, I liked the boulder mechanic a lot when I figured it out. A little difficult at times but I still enjoyed it. Nice one!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58am

The boulder moves the same speed as the enemies so they're really hard to hit, and sometimes you die without getting a chance to move. I can see the kernel of a good puzzle game here, good job!

Lafolie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:20am

Nice use of moody two-tone graphics.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Nice mood and graphics. The game was a lot of fun :) sometimes the controls felt a bit unresponsive, and it's quite difficult when the enemies are so random - I'd like to see more pattern to their moves so I could play a bit more strategically. Overall though a great game, good work!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I sucked at this game, but I still really enjoyed it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

My only complaint is that it's a little finicky getting those last few guys. I like it though. Fun and cute :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]