December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SEINOU

by Harsay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- Information -
Play the bugfixed version. (on low fps you jump higher on both versions - fixing it today)

!!! READ IT PLEASE. SOME PEOPLE DON'T UNDERSTAND CONDITIONS TO COMPLETE THE LEVEL !!!

You only get one ablility

- Controls -
F1 - change display mode
Arrows - movement
Space - ability button
Enter - suicide (even if you are in godmode)
ESC - quit game

- About -

You have to complete the level with
- Time equal or shorter than given once
- All potatoes collected once
- Every ability possible to use once (you have to guess which are possible!)

Available abilites:
- Jump and Double Jump
- Low Gravity
- GodMode (gives you immortality)
- Fly Push (allows you to bounce in air horizontally)

Spikes can kill you!

Have fun!

FAQ:
Q: What does seinou mean?
A: It means ability in Japanese

Q: How many levels?
A: 3

- Known bugs -
- Sometimes player jumps too high.
- On FPS lower than 60 collisions are getting crazy.
- On lower FPS you jump higher (weird mistake in code, fixing tommorow)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#83Theme3.71
#216Innovation3.37
#414Overall3.11
#415Fun2.97
#493Graphics2.94
#545Mood2.69
#555Humor2.12
#642Audio2.16

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:23am

Cool platformer - I like the different mechanics and good use of the theme.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Somehow I didn't find out how to beat even level 1 with other abilities than jump, double jump and god mode.

Harsay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Updated description. Now there is better explanation about conditions to beat level.

Harsay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26am

I was testing the game with friends and we found some gamebreaking bugs. I will release version without these bugs soon.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I don't understand fly push. It doesn't seem to do anything for me. had fun with the other abilities though.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:53pm

i really like the color cycling background and the look of the game. hard to figure out how to win though

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Very nice game. After some tries I found out how to beat the levels. Love how you give us only one ability to use, but you need to use more abilities to beat the level. Very nice.

taocayo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Visually speaking, the potato is a bit out of place but the atari-like visuals and sounds fit the mechanics very well. I found the concept of finding as many different solutions as possible for the same level innovative. It feels the ability to jump may share too much in common with double jump.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice and original game, and excellent use of the theme!. Double jump is little indeterministic, sometimes the second jump is very short, and other times extremely long (one time i get stucked into the roof)

minibutmany says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:44pm

On the second level, there is one small platform with which you cannot land on.

Harsay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Ohhh i forgot to mention. It's a troll block :)

mtrc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:26am

Wow. This was great! I really loved the concept and the visuals. Thinking about which abilities might make the level possible was really, really interesting to me.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

Some small bug, but nice little platformer.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:31am

The idea is really cool, but the game is hard! I got to level 2 and beat it with lowgravity and godmode, but failed to do it with doublejump.

Double jump seemed to be buggy, even in the bugfixed version - many times I would get the sound for the second jump while jumping for the 1st time, and couldn't jump the 2nd.

The "troll block" was confusing :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

An interesting platformer, some of the abilities are a bit poorly used and the endingcondition is a bit overly complicated. Also slow gravity was much slower to complete levels with than the other mechanics since it made you fall slower and a mistake in slow gravity cost quite a bit of time.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:27am

nice, nice, nice and hard!:)

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:30am

I like the way you used the theme, and your level design works so well with the different abilities to make the same level feel interesting. Great job!

Tanser says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Amazing, the game is awesome!! :) I really like the idea. Btw it could be cool if you didn't give the player the ability to see the level so he would have to explore the level and get an idea how to play it that way! :)

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:31am

I love the idea. The white on colored background works really well. Didn't beat it, took a while to figure out that you don't have to beat it with ALL abilities just all possible abilities. Also got frustrated with falling through walls in windowed mode.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Cool game!
I like, that you can choose your ability and have multiple goals, that need to be done, before the level is won!
Great work!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Cool concept, unfortunately I couldn't beat level 2 :(

KEFIR says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Really nice concept and very good explanation on the mechanics! I couldn't beat the first level.. yet :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:56pm

wow interesting game :D loving the simple graphics here :D Great work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]