December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Snowball's Chance In Space

by barkergames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aliens have invaded!
They have come to destroy everything.
You are the only fighter left.
and our only hope to save Earth

Oh, and you:
only have one missile left!

Requires XNA 4.0 (Link above)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#197Theme3.45
#436Graphics3.05
#575Humor2.06
#591Audio2.32
#739Fun2.50
#740Overall2.72
#804Innovation2.40
#835Mood2.23

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27am

hmmm couldnt figure it out, maybe something to do with where the little ships come out of, but after 6-8 deaths I gave up. Thanks.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28am

I don't know how to finish the game. I died many times but seemed to be unable to find a way to defeat the enemies.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

Good art and well polished. Too bad you only get one level.

jmcrafty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35am

I couldn't get it to run unfortunately. I have Windows 7, 6gb RAM, AMD graphics card.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46am

Cool game I just wish it was longer. I was able to succeed and defeat the ship on the first try, but this meant the game was like 10 seconds. :)

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

Yes, sadly I wasn't able to make it as long as I wanted to :(

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Can't play windows games

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:55am

I couldn't figure out where to shoot the mothership... maybe give some kind of a clue? Trial and error is no fun! Good execution, though!

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:05am

The game didnt start and I dont know why.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:03am

Like the concept and especially the enemy ship movements but I am clearly missing something because I couldn't tell when I should be using my one missile.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:08am

This looks really fun, but I couldn't figure it out! Sorry! I'll try it again some time, but for now it's added to my to do folder!

Ace says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:54am

It's a nice game, though a bit too easy to beat.

You should have more levels that you have to beat, maybe salvage one missile from the defeated ship and using it on the next one.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:38am

I defeated the aliens. A p-pow.

I don't think it was that difficult to figure out where to shoot. The whole thing's symmetrical, so it was obviously going to be either the bottom or the top.

The control scheme is cool. I enjoyed just flying around dodging things for a bit at the start.

Nice one man.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Quite a short game, the boss didn't really have anything that made him interesting.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Took a few tries but wasn't really sure how to destroy the big ship? Is there a weak point? Good start though.

barkergames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30pm

For those of you who try to run it but it just doesn't start:
You probably don't have the XNA 4.0 Framework installed.
Link is above description.

If that doesn't work let me know.

Thanks for playing my game everyone :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I've just checked that you can destroy the enemy starship using two differents strategies :P. Good idea but toooooo short. But anyway you finished the game, congratulations!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:24am

I like the mothership graphic.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:51am

hahaha Excellent Work, i love the pixel art on this game! :D Was kind of hard but was fun to play! Great work n_n

bowlercaptain says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:25am

Couldn't figure it out originally based on ship design - I assumed I would be shooting some specific feature of the ship: into the docking bay, engines, etc., but a comment's suggestion made it not terribly difficult. I liked how the cycles of the weapon sounds were a simple multiple at eachother, making kind of a beat out of the sounds.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:44am

Good usage of atmosphere together with gameplay!
Nice!

runvs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:46am

Nice and working Game!
I figured out quite fast, what to do (and where to shoot). Unfortunately the game closes after i destroyed the alien ship, so no ending scene, credits or score for me. :-(
More levels would have been great, also so Music could have given the game some nice touch as well as some more particle effects.
The always displayed notice for Fullscreen is not neccesary and distracts me a little bit.
Nevertheless a nice game which fits the theme in multiple ways!

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I figured it out! :D
I like the control scheme a lot. Would play a fully realised non-one-missile version! :D
Nice work!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Good attempt at the theme. though it wasn't quite clear how you would need to use your only missile.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:59pm

I like how you are just out of luck if you miss. Its a nice use of the theme.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:31am

I like the twist on the theme: one missile, doesn't matter.

MisoraStudios says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:51am

Like the art.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I beat the game!!! Nice job! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice idea, but i think the implimentation of the jam theme kind of ruins this game. Only getting one missle makes this anticlimactic. Maybe if you had to go through a level before coming to the boss. Just an idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]