December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Ace

by OriginalBigDan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No Audio. Because Audio famously comes last. Too last in this case. :(

1 Button controls, SPACE bar to thrust.

YOU ARE THE LAST HUMAN STARFIGHTER ACE. THE LAST SPACESHIP EVER MADE IS CRITICALLY DAMAGED, YOU ONLY GET ONE THRUSTER.
DODGE THE ASTEROIDS AND BLOW UP THE ENEMY PLANET WITH THE SINGLE REMAINING NUKE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Innovation3.65
#172Graphics3.67
#267Theme3.29
#498Fun2.86
#616Overall2.86
#659Mood2.53
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice aesthetic! :D And very cool gameplay! It's a very interesting concept! :D
Is that ship a low poly Star Trek model? :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Ha! Almost! I think my main inspirations were the ship combat scenes from Star Trek, Wars and Enders game.

I needed a ship design which could clearly communicate that one engine was damaged, so I ended up steering towards the Trek-style ship as the engines are nicely visible!

Also, I apologize for the splurge of image effects. I had to make the most of my Unity Pro trial!

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Though lacking sounds and music, really enjoyed this one, very nicely made!

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Gameplay is fun but not really hard to complete.. more variation + more stuff to dodge at the end would have been better.. last message.. haha.. I didnt know we had to save the human race.. I thought it was just a exploration journey to Mars :P

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Of course I'm just dreaming but it would be supreme to play this in 3D so the rocks come off the screen, nice game.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very nicely implemented, felt quite tense. I few filler sounds (or some ambience) would've made a big difference. Graphically beautiful though. Well done. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice mechanic for one button. Game was a little easy I spent most of my time just sitting in the center square not moving.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Unfortunately the lack of sound really destroys the whole feel of a game like this, I didn't really have a sensation of speed :/. Visually I liked it very much though!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Good graphics and neat mechanic.

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:14am

Good mechanic, and controls worked well. Could have used additional gameplay elements considering the length.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very interesting control scheme! Really wish you had gotten some sound fx and music in because I really enjoyed playing but it was definitely missing something without sound. Nice job!

van noctar says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:25am

Graphics are wonderfull! :D I like the theme exploitation! :D

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:29am

Neat control scheme, nice entry. :)

loxo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Great control mechanism! I also like the graphics. But the game is too easy at the moment. Some variation and multiple shorter levels would be nice, I think. And of course the missing audio :)

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Wow, that was pretty awesome. The grid indicating where the asteroid would pass through helped lot! Cool graphics, I loved the ship and the bg!
And in the end...I died D: xD
Was short, but good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]