December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

VisiOne

by ThatGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My original influence for the idea was a game I'd played long ago on Kongregate - Z-Rox - a puzzle game that limits your view to a single 1D plane. I thought a platformer would be interesting with this same type of view, giving rise to cameras that only see in one dimension.

Thank you all for your responses to my game so far. It's always exciting to get feedback. You've motivated me to keep working, and address all the issues you're bringing up. I'll also add more levels, upgrades, power-ups, music, and just generally cleaning it up.

I'll post the newer version to Kongregate after the competition is over. I hope some of you will give it another try then, maybe with more helpful suggestions =D

Known issues/misunderstandings:
1. Static-y blocks sometimes kill you =O
- Level one cameras only show that a block is there, represented as the static-y block, not what it is. The block could be anything, even deadly spikes. I'm changing them to semi-translucent, as per Robinerd's suggestion, to make it clearer. (Thanks for the suggestion!)

2. The cameras don't act as many expect.
- Each of the cameras can only see in a straight line, mono-directional. The right one shines forward, top left shines behind and up from your character diagonally, for example. There are three levels of camera. The Bronze background only can see if a block is in that direction. The Silver can see what type of block it is (spikes for instance.) The Gold can see what type of block is in that direction and then where the next block is behind it.

3. The physics and platforms get a little wonky.
- While running short on time I dropped my own control system and modified Unity's which works well, for the most part, but definitely has some issues. I'll put in my own control system when I re-release the game to address these issues.

Thanks again for all the comments!


-- Changes
- 12/17/13 (Several players were finding the original style confusing and nearly unplayable)
- Changed unknown block texture to include a question mark.
- Range finder camera can no longer see through spike blocks.
- Moved one block on the last level to make the spikes more apparent.
- Added Kongregate API integration for fastest times. Good luck trying to get close to my time =P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#78Innovation3.72
#633Overall2.83
#692Audio1.94
#693Fun2.58
#716Humor1.75
#756Theme2.42
#815Mood2.27
#907Graphics2.02

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Neat idea! Seems a little buggy. I had visible blocks that I fell into. Had fun jumping around.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Really cool ! I love LD for that, you play cool game where concept are innovative and immersive. Great job !

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

That's a really interesting gimmick! I finished the levels, the last one was really hard. Probably shouldn't rely on tricky precise corner jumps so much.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:30am

Buggy, but cool. Fun to play. Nothing to say. :)

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

This one was interesting at first and I actually liked the mechanic. but then it turned into a game of die,memorize, repeat.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

It's a really, really interesting concept! I do think though that it should be worked upon. Were the blocks all looking the same on purpose?

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

Wow this is a great game very nicely done.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03am

Took me a bit to get it, but really innovative idea. Moving from one cell to the next could feel a little buggy, and the platforming was a little too picky.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15am

I like the concept of partial information in a platformer, there's something worth exploring here

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01am

Clever concept!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22am

I noticed a few collision bugs too. But I really like what you have done here.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39am

Doesn't really fit the theme.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48am

Interesting! I had to replay it several times to understand the basic gameplay, but once you got it, it's nice. Only arts need a real improvement :-)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11am

This is a really cool idea that I would like to see fleshed out.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

I don't get it the link with the theme, but the idea still very good!

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46am

Seems interesting, albeit a little confusing.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Kind of buggy but I liked the idea. Pretty hard though!

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very innovative game mechanic. Seems like something to build on after ludumdare.

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice puzzle mechanics!! I had no trouble with understanding the camera system, but I guess the unknown blocks could have been visualized in a more ghost or silhouette-like way to clarify, since the current rock-ish texture looks rather solid.

RocketDuke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Cool concept!

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Great idea. I would have loved to see more levels. The jumps on the last level are pretty difficult.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

This was a really great concept, it did feel a little off / buggy but I love it!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

i like the concept, and I enjoyed playing through the available levels. Clever. Excellent work!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

Really interesting mechanics, and well executed.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

A little confusing in regards to player collision.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Really funny! I like the hidden platform!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Quite buggy, but fun nonetheless!
I didn't get to play much because the 'cameras' were acting weird and a spike looked the same as a block :/
But I loved how it was 3D yet in two dimensions! Very nice!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47am

Nice work. But the cameras are not working properly, it shows spikes as solid blocks sometimes.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36am

Hey not bad. Interesting idea to add more player vision with upgrades.

I had some problems playing it though, there is no telling what blocks are harmful and what are goals as they all look the same.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

well done man.. interesting concept ..i sure there were a few collision bug but good job :)

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

It's fairly buggy, but was fun just running around jumping on blocks, kinda like mario :D also quite difficult XD

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

interesting!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Interesting mechanic.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Liked the idea! A little short though.

jprogman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03am

You got a great concept there! I didn't get the idea of playing after a minute of trying, but I got the hang of it.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:35am

Very interesting visual system. It took a little experimentation to understand the level layout and those spikes were my friends for awhile. I'd like to see this idea expanded upon, but would like jumping to be a bit more powerful.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59am

Clever concept, but lacking in execution unfortunately. Keep working on it!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00am

A bit confusing at first, but really original.

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Great idea that is fun to play

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Nice concept. Collision felt a bit buggy but is was enjoyable!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very clever concept. A bit too difficult for me and it took quite a while to get my head around it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very innovative gameplay, I really like the idea of seeing in only "1D", makes the game pretty harder after a while, nice job !

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:41pm

The best thing in this game was a field of vision. It gave this game a unique mood that I've didn't see in any other. Good game overall.

ColonierGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice game! But what the charachter is? A bean?

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Thank you all for your kind words. Along with playing all the submitted games, I've been hard at work implementing a more fully featured version of the game, including many of your suggestions. I'll host it on Newgrounds as a separate link.

The static looking bean was meant to show that you can only look out, that you don't actually know what you look like. Unfortunately, multiple system crashes during the last couple hours had me cut the story and music.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Cool concept, initially a bit confusing and frustrating though. I did have a bit of fun after a couple of goes though.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very interesting idea, and pretty fun to play! Good job!

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Doesn't fit my taste of games, but still very solid mechanics!

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Interesting concept. Nice job!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:35am

The concept is really cool, it made me think about what is the most important info my brain uses when playing platformers. With a bit more work on graphics & audio you'd have a really great game on your hands.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

a very good concept! i had to restart many times to test possibilities. very nice!

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very interesting game idea.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Good concept, a clever game

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:31am

Seems interesting! But Im very confused about the mechanic..

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:18am

I like the extra effort trying to do something unique with the theme. The game is fairly punishing.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Very tricky game, but I enjoyed the idea behind it! Something different for sure

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I catch the concept very soon and man you found gold. You could make a good and long game with this idea. Please make it, I will play it. Amazing Job!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Great idea! It was fun trying to figure out which cameras to buy so I could make it through the level. The presentation could be cleaned up, but the idea is solid.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice game

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It's certainly an interesting gimmick, but as mactinite said, it turns into a game of die, memorise, repeat. Perhaps there could be other penalties for hitting spikes than just dying - maybe you could get changed into an earlier state, perhaps. Now you can't fly, etc...

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A really fun concept. Damn difficult to make long jumps. If the player movement was more classic platformer feeling, and perhaps the view was more of a cone than a straight line, this would be really cool. Full of potential; a simple take on the theme that so far I haven't found another entry doing :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Fun idea for a game. :) Movement felt a bit clunky. It was a nice touch that you could reset the upgrades between levels. This could be expanded to an even better experience :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]