December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Portals of Despair

by Optimus6128 - Jam Entry

So, here it is, a simple idea I decided to do in just one evening with Unity3d. This is the first time I release something with this engine.

The concept is simple. You only get one portal that doesn't lead to death!

Wait for text to appear around the screen, the text will give you hints about the colored portal you have to jump into. If you succeed, you fall back into the platform and try the next levels. If you see YEAHHH and a white landscape you have won. If you fall and the screen shakes you lost (no time for proper winner loser text :P)

WASD for movement, Space for Jump, and I to invert mouse.

p.s. I know there are bugs (sometimes teleporting will push you away from center) and no sound, but I started this today in the evening after work, after abandoning my older plans from yesterday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Small, simple but funny :)

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

Cool! Despite the glitches, I thought the concept was unique.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

Really interesting concept!

skarab says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Nice one!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice idea, shame the core mechanic (jumping at portals) hangs the game if you miss :(
Some of the words were funny though. What colour is "matter"? :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Well yeah, some where like a riddle. It's grey matter :)

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:21am

Interesting concept! I never see anything like this before ;-)

Patacorow says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Interesting concept!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Not a bad idea, though I think having a greater variety of more obscure colored things might work better. Also, you should have a kill plane to respawn the player if s/he falls too far.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

I like the style, but I got hung up on the execution. My bad, but well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]