December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doki Doggie

by Husky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Using AS3, Flixel, Lua, DAME.

Old fashioned story: Oh no! the black guy have kidnapped the little boy, rescuing him by beat the big boss with the only ball!

--
I just thought maybe an adventure game about a dog with only one ball would be interesting, but I am regretting my decision now...

Too many part didn't get enough polished, but I don't have time now, maybe I need to practice more about platform games, hope next time will be more smoothly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#298Humor2.76
#317Fun3.15
#347Theme3.15
#359Audio2.78
#399Overall3.13
#450Innovation2.98
#469Graphics2.98
#534Mood2.70

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07am

The combo mechanic is really fun!

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

BOWLING SMASH LOL HAHA

Garrick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

Pretty fun game with good art, the movement seems a little clunky, though.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Ok overall, but sometimes the ball won't hit the men.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:55am

Cute!

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Interesting. :)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:30pm

It's a good idea, you should continue it. Take a look at Soccer Kid for inspiration. :)

Shigor says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Simple but fun

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:15am

Thank you guys :D

Dynad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:20am

That boss, Huge!! xD
Great game, love when you change to boss music.. but first part of the game can be skipped by jumping a lot don't have to kill those dudes :P

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:25am

This in 48 hours? really amazing, it's fun, and the ball combo mechanic it's well implemented

01rafael says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:03am

lovely game! nice grahics, interesting mechanics, good sound )
and on top of that, I killed the boss!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:14am

Cute game! Really fun, I liked the combo and energy mechanics. The ball didn't kill the bad guys sometimes, though. That boss was huge xD

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:43am

Cute! Addictive gameplay, a nice entry

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:08am

Cute pixel doggie! Cool music, too. You've done a really good job with this game :) I'd be excited to play this again if you ever make any kind of changes to it.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:15am

DogCombo! I like this game ;)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:40am

Fun game. Sometimes when I hit the bad guys with the ball, nothing happened. I'm not sure if this is a bug or I'm missing something?

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

A lot of content in this game, but as you said maybe too much.
I would have love to have to use the dash more often.
The main mechanic is fun and works well.
The bowling ball is a funny touch but maybe to overpowered (I one shot the final boss).

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:20am

Cool game! The dog is very cute and mechanics are incredibly fun. It remind me Soccer Kid too, very good entry, congrats!

havana24 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Cute and overall fun! :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Very addictive! :D

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Level design is a little plain and lots of the collision doesn't work between the bad guys and our intrepid doggie, but I liked the mechanic and the interpretation of the theme! Music was cool as well, and I actually like the dog's animation.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Really great pixel art, love the dog! Those dudes are creepy as well, I enjoyed smashing them up with the bowling ball :D The music was really fitting as well, and the parallax clouds were a great effect. I think I would have liked more variety in the terrain...

stvr says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:31am

The combo mechanic is fun, and pretty solid! A bit rough around the edges, but still a good idea. I like that you can almost do a pacifist run!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

I loved this pixel art and mechanics! Pretty solid game!

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

I love the way you integrated the theme into the gameplay. Although I wish the ball wasn't thrown with so much force (or had more friction), it's sometimes tough to get it back. Combos were really cool, and the dash was surprisingly useful for mid-air ball-catching.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

Cute game ! The mechanic is nicely implemented, the graphics are really nice, great work !

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Great mechanic. The pixel art on the dog is very good.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Interesting mechanic and pretty fun overall :) I had a hard time actually hitting the bad guys though, and they didn't seem to hurt me either? Really liked the music

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:21am

I made a very similar game a time ago... but it was a FPS...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7fK8A0Agak I should have recycled that idea :( Anyway... great little game. Congratulations.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:36am

I have noticed the very cute tail animation!

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Hahaha the game is SUPER cute. I love that aspect of it. It's definitely simple and fits in with the theme nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]