December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Coin

by jpsierens - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one coin and one tough decision to make. Explore the possibilities and see where they lead you!

This is my first LD compo ever. I have tried to participate on several occasions but I always had to study for exams or do university work. Now that I graduated I can finally participate.

I guess you can say I succeeded already in the sense that I correctly estimated the time it would take to make the game. I read that many people just drop out because they have big ambitions at the beginning but they fall off short on time.

It was really fun making the game and I learned alot along the way in just two days! Definitely looking forward for the next LD!

follow me on twitter if you like: @jpHax_

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#693Humor1.81
#784Fun2.42
#881Mood2.10
#898Overall2.46
#908Graphics2.00
#936Theme1.92
#948Innovation2.00
#1678Coolness14%

Comments

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

Prepare yourself to smash some buttons really hard :) . The shop prices are a little unbalanced. I played until i got the shotgun for 50000 coins, now my arm hurts...

shard123 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

Fun idea but grinding took away some enjoyment

indegame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:48am

Button mashing fun. Thanks bro. Here is something you should fix. You can get infinite money by holding down left in the lobby and holding x.

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59am

Nice pixelated graphic. Everything works fine just that the weapon is a little bit too expensive xD

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Haha, did you really think I would press "x" one million times?
I just opened the Chrome console and gave myself one billion coins XD
Interesting game overall. The lack of audio really bothers me, tho.

JackBid says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Fun and interesting, needs a bit more polishing and could be a great game!

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Bit too much grinding but the variety in gameplay certainly helps!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Cool, kinda remembers me of Candy Box!

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:01am

Yeah i agree that 50000 coins are too much for the shotgun, i quitted before reaching that amount, but i had a good time

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Good game, I enjoyed too much!
PD: I've spent all my money on food the first time... Fail xD

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:24pm

reminds me of cookie clicker, theme use not really strong cause you can just go mine more coins. BUT, great job making a complete entry, congrats on graduating.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Haha, at first I thought it'd be a game about tough life decisions, and was really surprised xD
That kinda made the theme loose but a lot more fun!
Not enough time to get the shotgun...so I went out to get the zombies with a gun, so that was hard :P
Anyways, though there were bugs, like the zombie sprites having corners visible, and doors activating even without reaching them, this was good for a first entry :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]