December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CodeKube

by bentog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CodeKube, the game where you program! Write scripts to the console and watch them come to life!

Instructions are in the game, but anyways:

WASD / Arrow keys to move
Spacebar to go up
Left shift to go down

Click a line of code on the "message board" to copy it to the code box

Run "r" to reset level
Run "t" to popup a helpful documentation page (make sure to enable popups!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#7Innovation4.22
#282Overall3.28
#421Audio2.67
#469Humor2.30
#469Theme2.93
#473Graphics2.97
#518Mood2.72
#623Fun2.69

Comments

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

Awesome idea! I really enjoyed messing around in free mode. I'm really interested in seeing how you did this, but your source link seems to be dead. As a Unity user myself, the levels were pretty straightforward, but I did learn some things (like Time.timeScale). I would have loved to see more challenging levels! Good job!

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Sorry for the broken link, it should be working now. The secret behind the game is the eval() function. For example:
eval("Debug.Log('Hello World')");
will print "Hello world". I'm glad you enjoyed it!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Cool concept! Nice twist on the theme!

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I have error(

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

occash, can you elaborate on that?

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

This is extremely interesting. Graphics are also very pleasant.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Great idea !! Love it very much! I don't know how I did it but the little cube disappear after I wrote : Print("hello!");

Really cool concept !

Rother Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I liked it but sadly, I had no idea what I was doing. Really good reminder to start using Unity, really need to get into it!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

This is really interesting. Maybe a new way to learn basic code to kids? idk but this thing here has some true potential y'all. Way to goo

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Really amazing idea and execution, well done! Maybe less of a game, more a test on how well you can script in Unity!

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

@archaeometrician print(); doesn't work in the game, you have to use the function Log(message : String, color : Color);

If you are in the level TimeWarper, the cube goes everywhere. To have an idea of where the cube is, use the following command:

me.transform.position = transform.position + Vector3(0,5,-10);

This will place the camera close to the cube.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

How are you assigning one component of a position Vector3 without creating a new variable? When I do that in Unity, I get a:

"error CS1612: Cannot modify a value type return value of `UnityEngine.Transform.position'. Consider storing the value in a temporary variable"

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

@JoeProgram What? Like,

transform.position.y = 10;

? Never had a problem with that.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20pm

@bentog : Ahh ! I should have used the Log function ! I will give it a new try. Also, thank you very much for your feedback about my game. It' really appreciated ! I will update my game with a new custom mouselook script instead of the default one. Also, thanks for the tips about the 3d text. I was wondering why it was so ugly. This will be fixed in the next update :)
Thanks again !

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

@archaeometrician c:

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

This may be a nice idea for a step-by-step unity tutorial for starters.
Cool stuff!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

No idea what I was doing but that is why I loved it so much! Never really seen a game like this before!

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Interesting... though probably more than I'm willing to mess with at the moment. Totally agree with the comments here about using this as something educational though.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This is amazing, but I'd really like to be able to reset without having to clear the text in the box, typing r and hitting Once. A separate button would be good. Also perhaps not using up the semi-colon if there's an error? I hate it when Unity's non-standard function casing results in a level restart.

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

nice idea and cute graphics. also chilling bgm

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Interesting idea, but all I could do was the tutorial, was there more to it?

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I like the idea and graphics. Would be a nice tutorial-thingy.

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17pm

@Udell Games: I hear you. Resetting should be more dynamic and only necessary if the script works. @chamberlainpi There are seven levels. After winning you must read the message board.

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Woah - neat. Not too much to do if you don't script with Unity though. Pretty darn impressive implementation, though.

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31am

Nicely innovative and an excellent idea ...but I wish it taught me more unity scripting by doing.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:37am

Really neat concept. I just wish there were some objectives to the game.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I like the concept. I also like how it uses a scripting language that exists outside of the game. (Unityscript)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]