December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

OneChance

by Makdaam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Make the right choices! You have only one go at making the best out of this world divided by lava. Will you shoot first, or maybe just talk?

Playtime: 1~5min

This is my "learn to love2d" game. Nothing serious :)

If you want to let someone else replay the game on your computer press "Q" instead of "SPACE" on the start screen.
No cheating! Only one playthrough per player.

Post your GAME OVER messages in the comments if you can, I'm curious what path you chose :)

Oh, and you need Love2D installed on Linux/Mac to play the game, get it from https://www.love2d.org/ or your system repo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#644Audio2.13
#683Humor1.84
#842Theme2.22
#871Innovation2.23
#916Mood1.72
#973Graphics1.63
#987Fun1.74
#996Overall1.96
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Haha, that gamespeed! Terrific. I like me some good speedy games. Interesting game idea man, the game however was a bit tóó fast.

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The game doesn't work, I was not able to destroy the house, and it is generally unfinished. That being said...I think if it were finished, and the graphics were finalized, it would be fun. Great potential...but unfinished.

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I forgot to save the game over message but I fell to death because I walked too far to the right sight and fell into a yellow sea. I don't know if it was a bug or a feature but in my game all buildings and NPCs were constantly bouncing, which made them look really happy.

I noticed too late that you can shoot your weapon (while falling down into the lava sea) and the game won't let me play again to test it out.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Hmm, it seemed to bug a bit for me, nice idea though. Firstly a rode the plane thing down a ditch and the game errored and closed. Then I accidentally shot the plane with the plane and my score kept going up infinitely.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Felt broken. Played it on Windows 7, seems like it couldn't write to a directory when I died or something. Music was cute, projectile sounds and graphics too, but didn't retain my attention after first death unfortunately :S sorry!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

I don't really understand the game. Once I lost, I had to delete the love cache to get the game to run again. Sounds like the "You only have one chance" to win this game :)

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The game concept is great! But it feels unfinished. Keep working on it!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Cool idea, music and sound effect! I didn't really like the constant jumping and it was pretty difficult to move around. At the error I got a write error, but maybe that was because I opened it right out of the zip file.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I didn't read your whole description first, so I didn't take a screenshot, sorry. I killed a couple people and then died. Wasn't really sure what I was supposed to do besides that. Now that I have actually read your description, this is a really interesting idea.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I blew up the house. I think. There was a ton of stuff going on that I didn't understand, but I understood dropping the bombs.

Suddenly the screen said "main.lua 1059: Could not set write directory."

This came from checkEndState.

creative630 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I went left and fell off a cliff into a bug "error could not set write directory". Else I shot loads of blue dudes :) then got "error could not set write directory"

TheSheep says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Slooooooow dooooown, noooot sooooo faaaast!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Seriously this game is veeeery slow? Maybe my laptop is too slow?
Anyways game has many bugs. For first it's too slow. When I clicking up/down arrows on keyboard the camera moves beyond character and my vehicle ( or something like this}...
But if this is Your, as you say "learning love2d game", keep trying to do some good. Maybe You create great game in next Ludum Dare ;)

Harsay says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

The game is too slow, but for a "learn love2d game" is good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]