December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Carnage

by MrAmazingSocks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The number in the top left is your health, below it is your armour. The number at the top of the screen is your kills, the two numbers at the right side of the screen are your ammo. You have three guns; a pistol, a shotgun and the peashooter. The peashooter doesn't use ammo. You can't restart(sorry).
------------------------------------------------------------
Made with Unity.
Textures made in Paint.net.
Sounds made in FL Studio.
------------------------------------------------------------
Stranded on an alien planet, your only chance is to kill as much aliens as you can. You only have one dose of Carnagin left, it will increase your strength to extreme amounts.

CONTROLS;

WASD - Move
E - Use Carnagin
Mouse 1 - Shoot
Mouse Scroll Wheel - Change Weapon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#638Audio2.18
#769Graphics2.37
#774Humor1.38
#913Mood1.81
#968Theme1.81
#981Innovation1.77
#985Fun1.78
#996Overall1.96

Comments

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43am

I can't seem to run it on windows. I've unzpped the package, but Unity throws an error. "Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/pim/Downloads/_LD28/mrAmazing_Carnage_win_x86/Carnage_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126)."

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43am

Couldn't run.
I got the error: "Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/owner/Desktop/Ludum Dare/Carnage/Carnage_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126)."

May want to fix that?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:53am

Uploaded fixed Windows version, should work now.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

There was not a lot of real feedback, for getting hit, for shooting things, when I died I didn't really know why. I could barely tell when I was hitting things.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Yeah... could of improved feedback, I tried to make the enemy projectiles go slower but they just stopped after a tiny distance and fell to the ground and I didn't know why and after experimenting with it a little just decided that there was not enough time and moved on.

The enemies bleed when you shoot them, though it's not always clear because your weapon usually blocks your sight of that a little. I always liked the trial and error style of shooting and thought it added to the challenge a little.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I had really hard time killing the enemies. It felt like my bullets had no effect on the aliens.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Not bad, always amazed to see a 3D game made in 48 hours, well done!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I had no UI for ammo, health, or anything else. I had a weapon that would recoil and sometimes it seemed to hurt the enemies, but maybe I just ran out of ammo. I also couldn't tell the weapons apart very well.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

The vertical mouse sensitivity was extremely high. I also couldn't tell if my shots were hurting the green guys (enemies?).

hypothetical says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I wasn't really sure when the enemies were doing damage.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Very little feedback for actions and ambiguous GUI (is the blue text a shield?). I also couldn't replay the game after I died without F5'ing. The music had a groove to it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

The blue text is a shield.(It says what everything is in the description) and I couldn't manage to make the game replayable, so the only way is to f5 unfortunately.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I thought the graphics were really appropriate for the feel of the game. I couldn't see what was shooting me or see what I was shooting. The easiest way to restart the game in Unity would be to just reset the scene.

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Couldn't see my own shots. Couldn't see enemy shots. Couldn't see why I was dying.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Pretty cool, thought the one time use of an extreme powerup was nice, since you had to decide when to use it. Got a little bit hectic since it seemed like the enemies could damage you from a little bit far away. Other than that, thought it was fun! Reminded my Doom.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Some visual or audio feedback when you get hit would have been nice. You can see the numbers go down but a screenshake, red flash or a sound would have made that more clear.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:43am

I felt like shooting with a toy gun :(.
I think you need more feedback so as to make the player feel more integrated with the game.
How did you implement the bullets? My game was also made with Unity and we implemented bullets as GameObjects with a PhysicalCollider and the graphics stuff (a Sprite with a texture in our case), would it be easy to add any kind of graphic element to your bullets?

48h game, nicely done despite of the mistakes :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Fun, nice, simple gameplay but also good work with the mood I think..

Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:52am

Cool game, as Donutttt said, it's always nice to see a 3d game in the LD compo ! It's a nice FPS, the 3 guns features is interesting, the Carnegin bonus is cool too ;)
Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]