December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Factory

by ZwodahS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I can't think of a idea for the theme, but I still want to make a game. So I decided to dig an idea that has been in my notebook for a while but I didn't have the time to make.

In this game, you are making a factory to produce Pixel.

Q/E : rotate anticlockwise/clockwise
Space : Run the factory once.

Sell the Pixel you get for money, and buy more chips to produce more factory.

There are 6 types of chips.
PowerStation : denoted by the lightning sign. This provides power to those chips that needs power.
Factory : converts Power into a pixel.
Connector : denoted by 2 arrow and a number. The number represents the number of object it can transfer per iteration. It also can be used to transfer power.
Combiner : combines 2 pixel to form another. Requires power.
Multiplier : multiplies any pixel into 2 pixel. Requires power.
Collector : collects any pixel that is transferred to it which allows you to sell them.

Each chip will have 4 sides. A red arrow is a input side, and a green arrow is a output side. The chip can only take things from the input side and will only output to the output side.

To place a chip, select it from your inventory at the bottom area, and click on the grid at the top. You can rotate by press Q or E.

Chip will be destroyed after certain number of turns. You can see the time left every few seconds on the chip.

There is maximum number of chips you can hold at one time (16). If you have more than 16, any new chips is automatically discarded. So use the chips before buying more.

Rarer chips have more input sources and sometimes last longer.

If there is any question just post it here. I will answer them later.

Note :
1. I wanted to add a tutorial/help screen but it is 5am and I think I am dying from exhaustion. I (might) add it later after the compo.
2. I know this is not done according to the theme, so feel free to rate me down for the theme category. However, please give feedbacks :D that is more important than the score.
3. If you run the windows version and didn't see anything, try to set the screen resolution to be more than 960, the size of the game is 960 x 960. If it can't work, please let me know so I can fix it.
4. If you intend to run the mac version, please run it from terminal, otherwise it can't find the images.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#161Innovation3.48
#564Graphics2.80
#629Overall2.84
#637Fun2.67
#720Mood2.44
#994Theme1.59

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

It doesn't run.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

Sorry, the windows version does not run. I am on windows 7.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

I was totally lost in what to do. Please do add a tutorial.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

It ran for me! Windows 8 Pro. The game is fairly confusing, but if you take the time to learn it's intricacies it becomes quite cool!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

Could not make heads or tails of this game...

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38am

Doesn't run on windows 8

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38am

I think this is a good start. It needs more work, but it could be a very good game. Right now, the player is just doomed to lose out on money, and it would be nice if I could manually switch between shoing what a tile does and how many turns it has left instead of it just swapping back and forth on a timer.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:56am

It works for me on Windows 8. But it was incredibly difficult to understand at first, even after reading your description. After about 5 minutes of trying to make sense of it I was able to make a working machine, but I quickly found myself running out of money due to the poor chip draws. A game like this really needs a tutorial!

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11am

Thanks for the feedback. I really wanted to add a tutorial but hooking up the system takes more time than I expected :X I will make a screenshot tutorial in a bit. =)

I know it takes a while to understand =X but when you understand the concept, the game will be interesting and rewarding :P

Sorry for those who can't run. I made this primarily on osx and didn't really build it on windows until the last minute.

I will change the variable for starting cash/price to be read from file instead and update the exe again =)

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:42am

I have updated a new version with some fixes. If the game is too hard, you can adjust the config file to give yourself more money by modifying the last value. If it is still too hard, you can modify the other 3 values which are the basic selling price of the different pixel.

For those that still can't run, let me know =).

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

The second image is kind of a tutorial/guide. Look at it if you don't understand.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

Running Win7, works without problems.

Nice mechanics =) I believe the timer is too short, you can't really maintain any resource flow... Replacement parts (even if not the same, could swap a duplicator with a part forwarder and get *some* output) are just generated by chance... I'm sure that you could take the game really far, just because I can't gain money here after 5 tries doesn't mean it's impossible ^_^

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

This works flawlessly in WINE on linux. I like the mechanics.

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Hi, can't get it to work on OSX(Mavericks). Here's output from console:

'Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/sfml-graphics.framework/Versions/2.1.0/sfml-graphics'

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I just realized that OSX I need to bundle it up into ".app" and I have never done that before. I have always used clang++. I will try to do it when I wake up.

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58am

Neat idea and solid implementation. The gameplay is just not for me.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18am

I have uploaded a new version which package up the mac into a .app instead.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I would love to play it, but i dont know what to do :/

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Cool idea, I love the concept ! Good work

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:48pm

It works for me! And it while it took a bit of time to figure out what I needed to do, it was quite rewarding to build a factory: really cool concept.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57pm

At first I closed the game because I did not understand it, but later when I tried again I got the hang of it and I like the idea of this game! I am inspired! :D next time some tooltips would be helpful though :P Also, you could have made this into the "you only got one" theme by limiting the player with 1 minute or 1 quarter of an hour. or by adding a story that you have a mean boss and he tells you that you only have 1 "day" to make profit for the company, otherwise you are fired.

creative630 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Rad Idea! I really liked where it was going. Quite a spacechem kind of vibe to it.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57am

Thanks for the positive feedbacks :D. I had this idea when I was playing space chem a year ago. I didn't want to reinvent the wheel so i put it in my notebook. I couldn't find any thing to make in this 2 days so I went to my note book and see which one I really want to make. I'm glad that I made it.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The idea is really great!
I would love to see this with a faster timer. I'd rather see some power or pixels wasted, than waiting so long for something to happen.
Turning parts would also be nice since you need some luck to get a working combination.
I'm sorry if I didn't get something, that would change the experience :-[

I'd love to see a post compo version of this, since the mechanics are really cool!
Keep on your good work! :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:46pm

P.S. worked fine for me on Win7 ;)

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:02am

You can use Q/E to rotate the chip =)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Loving the complexity and logical stuff involved in this game! interesting idea! :D great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]