December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burnt Out

by dremelofdeath - Jam Entry

Once legendary ghost relic hunter David Burns has hit hard times. Strapped for cash, and losing credibility from a less and less superstitious public, David has hit hard times. Forced to more remote areas in search of a true haunted house which he can explore, he is almost out of fuel. Help David explore one final mansion to find some lucrative relics before he finally burns out. This one may actually be the real deal...

David has only one match. Turn it on with SPACE, and use the arrow keys to control him. But beware, once that match burns out, David will be left in the dark with the ghosts!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#78Theme(Jam)3.48
#81Mood(Jam)3.55
#114Audio(Jam)3.39
#167Graphics(Jam)3.63
#196Overall(Jam)3.25
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#363Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

nikev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

I really liked the environment art.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

Game didn't run - error on kong reads:

(null):[There was a problem binding to the shared object data from FIxSave.]

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

Very nice graphics! Looks great!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

Nice graphics and sound.

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

I really enjoyed playing your game. All the graphics of the enemies animated beautifully.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25am

Neat idea (:

afterisk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:28am

great level design and atmoshphere!

netguy204 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:22am

Lots of points for graphics and audio (though my heartbeat did sound like a geiger counter). The art was really pretty great and you did a good job of establishing the mood.

Not sure how this relates to the theme and I didn't think collecting goodies in the dark (or with finite timed light) ended up being much fun. There wasn't really a sense of progress.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43am

Part way through I got the the game name pun. It might be the lack of sleep but I found it hilarious. Also I really like how you handled the lighting in this game.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51am

The lighting effects are very nice.

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:04am

Wow, nice graphics and audio! I really liked the shadow effects too, looked really slick. I was a little confused as to what I needed to do at first, but I got the hang of it after a little bit. Oh and I liked how you implemented your pictures as the paintings (well, I'm assuming they were your pictures!). Good job!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:15am

Cool lighting and paintings.

popogames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:35am

That was scary! Nice YOGO mechanic as well. Overall quite a fun game.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:36am

Nice ^^ bit lack of informations I think ;)

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:38am

Really interesting little game. I really liked some ideas, especially the heart monitor instead of the typical HP.

juaxix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

Hey, I have added a Windows version of the game ;)
Your game looks right, kinda hard to complete for me.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:52pm

This may be the one game I've played that made the one match idea work. Great Job!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:45am

I liked the one match idea, and the HUD items were pretty novel. Game was good.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:33am

Real nice graphics and atmosphere, lighting was well done. Only thing I can say is I didn't have much of an idea why I was collecting this stuff or whether or not there was a way to win. Oh, and maybe a lighter with fuel would have been better -- matches don't really work that way :p

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:03am

Well done. I expected the ghosts and things to be more dangerous somehow -- it didn't seem like colliding with them did anything bad, except make the edges of the screen glow red. The graphical effects such as blur and lighting are superb for a web game. And I liked that the music would trigger according to what was happening in the game. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]