December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dodgy Ball

by x70x - Jam Entry

THIS GAME REQUIRES CONTROLLERS AND MULTIPLE PLAYERS
Press Start to Join - Press "A" to Begin
Left Stick to Move - "A" to Jump and Wall Jump
"B" to throw your Dodgy Ball
If you don't have a Dodgy Ball "B" will Dodge
You can catch other balls when you Dodge
You can only pick up other balls when they are white
YOU ONLY GET ONE Dodgy Ball, but you can steal others!
Get Hit 5 times and you are OUT

Programming, Art, and Design - Tyler Owen
Music, SFX - Clark Aboud
Additional Art - Spencer Owen
We are members of Random Seed Games currently working on Lacuna Passage (www.randomseedgames.com).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#70Fun(Jam)3.53
#130Overall(Jam)3.41
#146Audio(Jam)3.28
#197Humor(Jam)2.64
#257Theme(Jam)2.78
#277Graphics(Jam)3.18
#277Mood(Jam)2.86
#308Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Where the web wersion? We did a game about balls too))

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57am

Oh. My. Gosh. Too cool. Very well done XD

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57am

only got one player here. :-( Looks cool though!

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01am

Overall very good. Lots of fun, and mechanics work pretty smoothly.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

Solid controls. Fun mechanic. Played great with 2 players.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

I like the way you played with the theme. As for a small critique, I don't think you should be able to start the game with only one player. While playing two player, we kept accidentally doing that and it was a bit frustrating. Very cool game though. I'd be interested in playing more from you all.

x70x says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30am

@emmelineprufrock Yeah, the player select stuff was added in very last-minute. Overlooked that little detail. Would fixing that be qualified as a "bug fix" for competition rules? Or would it have to be listed as a post-compo version?

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50am

Very cool! I wanted to make a game like this as well some time :) I like how when you're aiming you can freeze in the air for a brief moment. It's also funny that you can hit yourself with your own ball.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24am

Well done ! Had a lot of fun :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56am

Only got me here but i wish i could have played your gam

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20am

I couldn't start the game, is it because no other players
were in?

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09am

Gameplay is very smooth and cool visuals!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Glad to see I'm not the only one who made a game requiring controllers and more than one person :D
I really enjoyed this game, very fun!

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Can't play because no controllers :( Keyboard controls maybe? please?

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:56am

This looks like it'd be great fun with a web-multiplayer version. Unfortunately I don't have any other players or controllers here :(

x70x says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Sorry, but no keyboard controls for this one. It wouldn't make sense with the analog aiming in the game. Holding a direction on the joystick directs where your ball is thrown. Please don't vote if you can't play. Thanks.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:21am

Too bad it can only be played with a controller.. I sure wanted to play!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Dude this game is EPIC!! Laughed our asses off while playing!! I am inspired :)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:32am

Although the use of the theme isn't the best I have seen, the game as a whole is an outstanding idea. Congratulations on every aspect of it!

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Played with 2 controllers, one Logitech and one Xbox 360 controller and they had different controls. No big deal but it was complicated figuring what to do in the beginning. After we managed to play, nice fast-paced multiplayer game. It has some nice potential. Music is good as well!

rico.albe says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really addictive, reminded me of Foiled.

It's really frustrating to get hit by a really slow ball you thought you'd pickup and sometimes getting hit doesn't spawn an alarming enough visual response, and the counter is really small and it's not feasible to keep score while playing.

There's a bug sometimes that makes you "pick" more than one ball (so they're floating around you) but you only throw one. Making some balls dissappear from the match. It made a game of three be a one ball match.

x70x says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:54pm

@LordHellMaX Yeah, I only had xbox controllers to test with unfortunately. Glad you were able to play still.

@rico.albe You managed to point out most of the bugs/issues that I didn't have time to fix during the jam. I really do like the gameplay of this game though so I may come back and do a more polished release at some point. Thanks for your feedback.

01101101 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:34am

Quite fun, good job guys! A networked-multiplayer version would be awesome :)

occash says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

I can't start this game( I press A but nothing happens(

chameco says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Very, very fun.

Harsay says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Don't tell me you can't make keyboard controls. Just make fake 8 way movement (4 buttons). Maybe it's not comfortable for 4 players but you have to do it!!!

Harsay says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Well I found PS2 controllers. I think the graphics should be better after 72 hours but it's a very playable game! I love it!

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

@Harsay Keyboards have a max number of keys that will respond to being pressed at the same time. Most keyboards max out at around 6 keys at one time (depending on which keys) so that would make it pretty much impossible to do more than 2 players on a keyboard (not to mention how uncomfortable it would be). I still think analog aiming (full 360 degree control) is important in a game like this. Even though Dodgy Ball is much simpler, try to imagine playing Smash Bros on a keyboard. Aiming attacks even in 8 directions wouldn't be precise enough I don't think.

The art was a result of trying to learn all the new 2D features of Unity while developing the game. I had never touched the sprite features or messed with the mechanim animation trees. That took longer than I thought.

01101101 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Had to comment again after spending some more time playing with a friend :) Definitely had a ton of fun, great job guys!

x70x says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

@01101101 Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]