December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Twisted Button

by etabubu - Jam Entry

Hope is a runner, she runs wherever she goes. And while she's really good at running, she could use some help at jumping.

One Twisted Button is a game in which you help Hope jump over obstacles and between carts to keep her moving on top of a speeding train. You only get one button to jump and after each jump the button gets changed to a different button.

For more info, visit: www.joe.is/games/onetwistedbutton/

"One Twisted Button": code by Marco Bancale, pixels by Johannes Sigurdsson

NOTE FOR MAC USERS: if you get an error while opening the game, about it being corrupt, please try disabling GateKeeper in the Preferences. The game is not signed and that's why some people get this error!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#76Fun(Jam)3.49
#105Audio(Jam)3.42
#111Overall(Jam)3.49
#125Theme(Jam)3.26
#130Graphics(Jam)3.82
#143Mood(Jam)3.29
#144Innovation(Jam)3.24
#235Humor(Jam)2.47

Comments

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

People are going to expect a web player to load from the web link. If you want people to go to your web site to download the game, you might want to just make that the Windows link and delete the "web" link.

I was prepared for a typing game, but the mouse button thing made me move too much and screwed me up. I tried a few times, made a max of two jumps, then gave up... sorry.

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Good point Kep. I changed the web link, thanks.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Strongly follows the "heritage" of Mirror's Edge - if it even had :D women as protagonist, her name is a noun (Faith - Hope), she has a sportish outfit, she's running quickly and she have to avoid obstacles :D

So for me, it's a small ME implemented in an endless obstacle game.

Graphics 4, Audio 5, Fun 4, Innovation 2, Mood 3. It's worht for me overall, nice job.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Forgot to mention that I love the variety of switches, it makes the whole stuff challanging!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Really very good. I've never found a legit reason to use the 'END' key more than this, and the fact that the mouse buttons get in on the fun as well only makes it even more intense. 5 stars for you, sir!

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I died due to a signpost. Twice. Everything seems to be so... lethal :P I guess I'm just not a professional train runner^^

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Hey! I pressed "up" at the start, and the game crashed. :)

VideahGams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Just so you know, the game will crash if you press a button before any keys show up.

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32pm

We'll have a fix up soon! Thanks for reporting it @mtrc and @VideahGams :)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

LMB OP

Nice game overall, but could have used faster transitions so I could have restarted each run more quickly. Other than that nice job.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

This was cool. It's a new take on a familiar genre, with some awesome music. Great job.

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Crash fixed and Mac version added!
Thanks for the support!

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Good game! It is very funny and adictive... :)

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Very nice game! Only complaint is that special keys like Page Up and middle mouse button are very difficult on a laptop.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

This is a fun game however, I'm playing on a laptop and many keys came up that did not exist on my keyboard so I was unable to play very well :/

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Cute little game, Not a bad try.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

nice game . I like it

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

When you said "prepare to be confused" in the game, you were absolutely right. It took me a while to get used to the random controls, but even when I did, I didn't really. :P

But the game is well done. It's a great use of the theme, and I can see this getting pretty highly rated.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I like this graphics! But game is difficult. The easy mode, made it more good, I think.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Really liked this! The idea was clever, the pixel graphics looked good. Would maybe like to see an instant restart button as I was keen to try again each time and the game made you wait a little each time.

I was caught out by an upper case 'I' I mistook for an 'l', the mouse buttons and those damn signs almost every time.

Good fun and one of my favourites so far.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

If the control scheme only used the keyboard, it would have been just right. I understand it'S part of the difficulty to switch back and forth between which input and WHAT IS THE OBSTACLE ON SCREEN--but that was the biggest challenge for me.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

Liked the art and music. Good job. :)

Odiobill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46pm

For some reason I cannot rate any game: the form is just missing. I would like to give not 5, but 50 stars to this small, frustrating and very addictive game: I just slept three hours tonight, because of you and your game-developing skills. :P

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Awesome :) Sign posts come in a bit fast, they keep killing me. The music is great

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I loved the concept, and playing on the macbook adds a hard mode to the game hahah

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Big fan of the game. It took me a few runs to understand exactly what was going on, but once I figured it out, mirth ensued. Thanks a lot!

danbo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This is better than that new Typing of the Dead game

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:18am

Good music and graphics, original game concept. Where can I send the invoice of my new keyboard?

etabubu says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Ahahah, thank you guys for the support!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:49am

cool game. played it for a couple of tries... but it is hrad to beat... made 211m .-/ noob hu?

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This is great haha! Totally evil swapping you between mouse and keyboard like that but once I got the flow of it it played really nicely. I love the "escape on a train" setting, excitement! The sounds were really fitting as well and the artwork top notch. I would have like a faster restart between rounds as it was a bit tedious spamming the keyboard to try to get it to reset. Online high scores please!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Cool gameplay, the random button assignation to jump is getting challenging as the game progress. Great work !

psc1997 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

200m :>
I don't be perfect :P
Great idea and gameplay !
I like it very much !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]