December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tropic Warrior

by blackmagic - Jam Entry

TROPIC WARRIOR - All you have get is ONE MILLION.

But will you keep it ?

Help Red the shiny thief defend the only chest she managed to stole from the Russo-Somalo-Indonesiano-Socio-Liberal pirates ! The more she is hit by bullets the more she loses money, and money is life, no ?

How to control Red :
-move with the keyboard arrows.
-turn red with the mouse.
-click or press ctrl to fire or grab your chest.


You must move the chest in order to progress to the final battle !
Do you have the guts to survive this tropical war ?
Well we will see...

We hope that you will enjoy this one.

Blackmagic (code,sound) & Gyhyom (graphics,beer)

Music under creative common by an awesome real indonesian chiptune band.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Graphics(Jam)4.41
#99Audio(Jam)3.45
#115Overall(Jam)3.47
#116Humor(Jam)3.08
#138Mood(Jam)3.31
#225Fun(Jam)2.98
#243Theme(Jam)2.82
#314Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42am

Really like the art in your game! for the controls i have some difficulties to shoot enemies without getting a ton of shot on me. and shooting next to the chest is difficult because the character grab it between each shot.
good entry, quite like it overall, very well made.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Thanks, yeah control are a bit old school. We hadn't had time to polish them. Thanks for playing !

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I liked the art a lot, but i wish you had included WASD controls as well. I didn't like the audio of the game though :/ It felt a bit unrefined when compared to the art.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Great graphics and fitting music! The gameplay could be more fluid. Dropping and grabbing the box break the gameplay. But i understand that this was intended. There is a small bug where I run out of the screen and couldn't get back. Overall a very great old-school shooter!

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Cool game, nice art and music. Great introduction

ncannasse says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice art, but the game is a bit repetitive. I feel the enemies are a bit passive so it does not feel much challenging.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:01am

artwork is cool. Music ist cool. Idea is fantastic. But I don't know how to shoot enemies ;D Controls are a little bit confused. Overall a good job.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:59am

i agreed about the intro, very good. congratulations

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:53am

This game is totally in the 90' arcade spirit, and not only the intro part.
The vertical shooting gameplay was a great idea, but the aiming system was a bit confusing, and it frustrated a bit the way I wanted to play it.
I wasn't able to defeat the last boss (who looks like some kind of Umibôzu).
Music and sfx are coherent with the graphics and create a good atmosphere.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Awesome art and great audio, a great game! Only the controls are frustrating to me.

Carduus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:59pm

As i said IRL, the limited angle to fire does not fit with the mouse aiming.
with such a litle game-width, many time you have to stuck the extreme sides of he screen to shot your target.
Am pretty sure this game would be awesome with free mouse aiming with all angles Mr json ATAN2 allows you :)
And please i need more atk-speed !
Nevertheles, i love this entry especially the art, overall thumbs up!

neekobus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:58pm

GOOD : Like the idea to keep the chest. Fine graphics.
BAD : Don't like controls (I have a trackpad) : Very hard to play.
Good overall !

Pomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Great sprites :) I didn't like the sound of the enemies continuous shooting hitting the chest, it's like the audio was stuck and got annoying. Otherwise was pretty cool

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Amazing graphics. Unfortunately CTRL and arrow keys does strange things on a Mac so I think some input refinement would help the game. But otherwise the gameplay was really nice and enjoyable.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:37pm

My score is 503 xxx.
The gfx are gorgeous and this chest scrolling idea is neat.
The game really lack some UI for bullet count and reloading. A floating text message is not enough. You end up having the feeling your shooting key dont work anymore ( some tic-tic sound would also help to get this no-ammo feeling ).

When you hit a monster the bullet stay frozen in the air, a small and fast impact animation would have work better.

I was not very fond of the loosing money instead of health mechanic. Having one million just give me the feeling I'm in a godlike difficulty mode with action replay ON.
The boss battle is especially a nonsense with all this big number damages decreasing a so large life pool.

Great work on character design and intro, this is a great heroine you have here she deserve a more badass name like Max Payne or Duke Nukem. Red Paindealer or Red Gutstamper... dont know I'm not good enough in english to find something that rock enough.

Anyway, great work despite the epic event that kept you separated, you did well :)

rico.albe says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Fixed angle aiming felt weird and got me in a chess-type mindset whilst the rest of the game felt much more organic.

Really like the earn/lose money on shooting, with some refining as to fire cadence and difficulty (alas less money or a cost for missed shots) could become a really cool game.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Really sweet presentation. Box escort was a bit of a drag, but I think there's something there - perhaps if it wasn't such a handicap, just a slight one... adding reload to the box penalty seems harsh. Terrific character and great effort, definitely worth it :)

runvs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Great art! steering is somehow complicated since you only shoot in one of the directions and not interpolated between them. Nevertheless i'd like to see a speedrun on this one ;)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Graphics are superb! Really detailed and lovely animations - excellent colours and really engrossing work. At first I started by picking each enemy off with surgical precision (which was a bit difficult because some of my clicks didn't seem to register) but eventually I just picked up that crate (there's someone inside crumbling?!) and walked to the top. I stood and unleashed into the awesome boss and emerged victorious! Fun, thanks! PS. Miniguns FTW! Fancy trying my minigun game?!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I really love the graphics *-* Nice job !

ehtd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:05am

WASD would be great to use the mouse. Nice graphics

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:30am

Regarding colors, it was our first game with a bloom post processing that allows bleeding and in fact it just speed up the game because rendering to target on flash induce a scissoring (not present in display list render)... that was my tiny programmer evil inner darkness speaking...

We would love to enhance the game a little, I'll think of a v2 after hollidays !
Thanks to you all, we love you !

jprogman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:28am

Such a shame that I have a weak weapon compare to the enemies' weapon. Is there any power-ups that would otherwise give me stronger weapons? Decent game overall.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:45am

Amazing game overall, but shooting is some irritating ;P Anyway, I really like this game :)

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice entry, I like graphics of this game, really nice pixel art.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

The art is very nice and the idea is interesting! However, the shooting was pretty slow and not really enjoyable.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very cool polished game with nice graphics and sound! Funny take on the theme. Having money for hit-points and using the chest for protection - genius! You did amazing job guys!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Nice game!
Great graphics and soundtrack! I like the idea, that your money is also your life ;)
Good work, keep it on :)

P.S.: You may want to redirect the "rate this game" button, so that it leads to this page instead of your profile ;)

deepnight says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Waaah this one is really beautiful :)
The gameplay is a bit strange, especially the pace of the enemy bullets. Also, the fact that you cannot aim freely, even though you actually use the mouse cursor to aim... It's a bit weird and makes simple situations very confusing.

I loved the amount of details you put in this entry, very polished, both art, code & sounds. Well done guys :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]