December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Make Tetrominoes!

by Crowbeak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Firefox users: You'll have to use the no sound version. I'm using an open source library that doesn't play well with Firefox yet. I'm sorry. :(

Known bug: Fixed the bug wherein if a new shape is generated and that shape is already on the board, the new shape was not automagically taken away for points. Have not fixed inability to re-select a tile because that was actually a poor design decision and fixing that would be cheating.

Use the mouse to control things. You get one piece from the two at the bottom per turn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#241Audio3.02
#282Overall3.28
#307Humor2.74
#350Innovation3.12
#352Fun3.07
#628Graphics2.68
#720Mood2.44
#858Theme2.18

Comments

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Clean and fun, more than I expected at first! I like the sounds especially. I was a bit confused by a couple little bugs (only one clears at a time, not able to re-choose after selected one block to place), but picked it up pretty quickly. Are the chinese (?) characters relevant too? Or are do they just indicate the color?

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

I really enjoyed this, I especially liked the 'click'/'shunk' sould effects. I would like to see more colors to help ramp up the difficulty more. Good job!

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

I had fun, nice puzzle game.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

Very interesting, seems easy at first glance, but in fact, it's really cool and challenging !

It would be pretty usefull to rollback when you clicked a domino. I mean that if I realize that I chose the wrong domino, I would love to switch it to the other one before placing it.

sounds are pretty cool !

I don't really understand how does it fit the theme anyway ?

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

an actual board game! love it. no real win condition, but that's alright. great job with the html5!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48am

Thanks for the comments, guys. Not getting to make a different choice of piece was done on purpose, but I had no playtesting besides myself; the reason for it is that you only get one... piece. Maybe not getting to rechoose doesn't matter in that sense, but I was building the system and fixing that wasn't a priority. xD

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38am

Pretty cool!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41am

Fun and simple game that turned out to be more challenging than it first appeared. Can't think of anything to change. Nice work, and loved the sound effects (Reminded me of matrix pong when I got a good rhythm =P).

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

Pretty addictive game for being so simple! I played for quite a while.

Sound effects are curious. They don't get annoying though, which sound effects of this type often can (I find).

The game's a bit lacking in challenge, but clearly that can be improved in future versions.
Maybe bonus points for clearing a shape with fewer clicks, so you can sort of plan ahead, or some other kind of bonus/challenge that relates to how you cleared previous shapes or tiles.

Tenuous connection to theme maybe, I dunno.

Overall 4 hanzis out of 5!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05am

Little bugs/lack of features aside it's a really fun game!

Two things I'd love to see though. Some way to mute the sound (sounds are cool but at some point you can get annoyed) ;)
And more colors because right now the game is a bit too easy when you figure out how to play efficiently.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

Good, but the difficulty doesn't seem to increase which makes it repetitive. Also, relation to the theme is unknown.

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48am

That was fun! I thought it was too easy though. Try to find a way to make it more challenging.

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

Very addicting gameplay, and fitting graphics. Unfortunately, it isn't exactly the most original game concept, and I can't judge the audio since I'm playing on firefox. Good work, anyways!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22am

I ran into the time limit before I could make it more challenging. I've actually thought of several ways to do that.

ghosrath says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

I really like this! Im gonna keep playing this some more :)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I had no idea what Tetrominoes are, so the flashing boxes indicating what to do was really useful; then I realised tetrominoes are tetris shapes, haha! D'oh. Good game. :)

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Very good work. Solid visuals, cool concepts. Loved the 'mouth sounds', haha. I don't really understand how this ties into the theme much, but great job nevertheless. Keep it up!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07am

Super fun! And I thought after Tetris there were no big yet small games left to be invented! Did you make the game up yourself?

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24am

I didn't realize the pieces were accepted when rotated, and it took me a while to get around the idea of the game, but once I did I really loved it. It's a fantastically simple game!

Click! Shuck! Click! Shuck!

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice game, the switching sound is really funny (for the first minute), but it would be nice to see which block i choose, before i place it

Eniko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Very smooth little game. A bit too easy, and a few little niggles I would change such as letting users click either tile until they place it and making sure when a new tile appears to check if the board already has it. Regardless, it's a new interesting concept and if you can get into the flow of it with the CLICK, SHUNK, TIIIING it's almost zen like.

(<3 the audio)

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice simple game. Enjoyed playing. Took a little bit to figure out what to do, but once I got the point I was good to go.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52pm

games like this are addictive to me

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Cool puzzle game ! I like your idea, it's fun to play. The only problem is that the sounds are repetitive. Good job !

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Fun and interesting once you get it. (I was stumped at first :P)

This would work great on mobile devices and I can see people playing this for way longer than they anticipated.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice idea, but you can play almost 'cheat' if you just use 3 colors, maybe adding more colors can fix that?

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Anything giving Tetris a nod is worth a look in my book. Happily clicked away for 10 minutes

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I love the sound effects! Although the words "click" and "shunk" have now lost whatever scraps of meaning they may have once had for me. Click shunk click shunk click click shunk.

Beavl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:46am

Same here. If you figure it out, you can go on forever. But hey, nice mechanics though. Just need a little more balancing. Good work!

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:38am

Hmm, I'm using Chrome, and it doesn't seem to be working for some reason. I click the first one and then click the board; the first one moves to the board with the 'shunk' sound. Then, when I click another to place it on the board as well, the first one disappears. After that, none of the tiles are placeable on the board.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:28am

Where did you place it on the board? Maybe there's a mistake in the shape checking algorithm.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I like the concept, and the sounds are great. But the difficulty doesn't increase; if you fill each quarter with one colour, you can continue indefinitely. If you introduce more colours, or larger shapes, so that the difficulty increases. And maybe an end-of-game when you cannot make the current target with the space available (or when the entire board is full might be easier)

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I think everything has been said before... Good job !

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:38pm

the perfect game for a day like this (i.e. hung-over).

Sestren says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Great interpretation of the theme being applied to an established idea. I can't help but feel the game turns out too easy, and could benefit from a timer or some increasing difficulty ramp of some kind, but overall I think the concept is a solid one. Bravo!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I could been even more educative if you would have said in japanese the color when you put it down. :-)
Cool game, im happy that you can do rotated shapes, good job.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Nice puzzle game, should be able to change the color you picked before placing. Well done.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:15am

Neat concept. I stopped at 31 because it seemed like there wasn't any lose condition, unless you purposely mess up. I also like the kanji on the blocks, which makes it somewhat educational.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Enjoyed the game. But cannot found any connection to the theme, though

Crowbeak says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Ooooooh, saying the name is a brilliant idea. :3 Gonna steal that for the post-compo version, methinks. :3

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:02am

I don't think you give yourself enough credit when you say 'I don't think it fits the theme well'. While it's not explained, it becomes readily apparent that you only get to pick one color. Some sort of undo would've been nice, but, meh. Very nice. Good minimilistic game!

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Really original game! Once you figure it out it's pretty smooth gaming from there. The difficulty never really ramped up for me, or if it did it was extremely subtle.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]