December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUMMONING ONE

by arcticleaf - Jam Entry

Survive for 5 waves
Press Space to attack
Press Z to use special attack
the special attack will be randomized by system for each interval of time, you can only use 1 skill
You only had one life, your hp and mp will not reset for each battle.

-------
POST MORTEM UPDATE
fixed delay issue
fixed difficult issue
reupload and fixed missing link

TIPS -
I suggest to use Commander Stance, it has healing skill for Hp and Mp,
To counter ranged mobs, i prefer to use Knight Stance than Guardian.
and about talent, Passive first, add def and strength active talent, make it equals, the rest is up to you.

The point you've spent for Regeneration talent will not return once you use reset talent.

You only had ONE life, your hp and mp will not reset for each battle.

Beat all stages and show ur score to me :)
Have fun playing.

Important for Updated Version : Use keyboard in mapscreen,
I = Inventory
S = to access Talent screen
A = not available for this update.
Z = Start
Always check inventory after battle win or lose

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Graphics(Jam)3.79
#146Audio(Jam)3.28
#301Mood(Jam)2.81
#340Overall(Jam)2.93
#377Fun(Jam)2.57
#414Humor(Jam)1.76
#443Innovation(Jam)2.34
#464Theme(Jam)2.16

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:09am

Beautiful background, character animations, and music. It wasn't clear to me when I could use the special attack.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

ya actually it will need Mp , and also timing, we're worrying about the time as well so we've suspnded a lot of features, but everything works here, passive and active talents, etc full version might be come later in a couple of days after

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

and thanks a lot for playing :D

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06am

Nice art and the idea seems to be good, but I had a hard time trying to read the skill tree... and the time between waves is really long. I didn't go very far so I don't know if there is something to do in this interval, but at least in the firsts stages it sometimes seems the game has frozen.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01am

okay, point noted, thanks for playing

KEFIR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29am

Very nice entry! But you could include audio with better quality - it's almost 2014 year! Internets are fast :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41am

Gorgeous backgrounds and animation! Would be nice to have the controls listed in game.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

That wave of 4 stronger looking enemies is surprisingly difficult. Never was able to beat them. I agree with the person who said the time between waves is oddly long.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55am

thanks for playing, it's easier with hit and run :D

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32am

It seems like the player is immobilized between waves for half a minute -- completely unnecessary. It's completely unclear what you're investing in for passive and aggressive talents.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:34am

thank you, yes i know it seems i forgot to state it inside the game :D, i've listd it above tho haha

nka says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06am

Really good, I liked straight forward gameplay. The only issue is that white text is hardly readable on bright yellow background.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Only problem is white characters were unreadable over yellow background. Other than that, I like such simple mechanics and the game seems to be well thought out. Also, other than the menu, excellent visual presentation. Well Done.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great concept. You need to polish this game in future!

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The fighting is nice and solid. Good gamefeel for that part.

I don't like how you can't move the character while it's displaying the 'next wave' text. Makes the pacing feel choppy. The game would probably feel better if it accepted, or at least acknowledge input at times like that and the 'battle start' pause.

I can't tell what the things in the talent upgrade screen do; some text to explain them (or even just names) would probably help.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice game!
The art and music are really great :)
Nice work

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

thanks for playing, about the next wave delay, it's mainly because we're at first / tutorial stage, it will decrease to no delay at all, makes everything hard ,
about talent, yes above you can see it, listed all of it :D

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:23am

The thing that pulled me into this game was the art style, and one of the few things I ended up truly appreciating by the end of this was the art.

Don't get me wrong, the mechanics work well and there isn't anything inherently wrong with the game if you don't mind grinding at hordes of enemies for a while. But I don't like grinding at hordes of enemies.

The use of the theme is a pretty huge stretch, somewhat comical considering the use but still a very large stretch.

Oh, the audio was nice, that was an enjoyable too.

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:27am

Very nice game, fun to smash itself, but pauses misleading and brakes the flow. Anyway, good job!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:34am

The music and character animation was fantastic, but the game play was a bit repetitive. I kept playing longer than I would normally just for the music.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:41am

thanks for playing, i agree about pauses, will polish it in full version of the game

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Artwork is beautiful, but gameplay is kind of disbalanced. The time between waves is rather high, and I don't get why you stop him from moving during that time. But otherwise, nice work!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:46am

The art is great, but it goes so slow between stages

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:55am

When I was allocating my points in skills I had no clue of what skill do what. In the game I found the wave messages a bit too long, and most of the time I didnt find better techniques than holding space.
I also noticed that the sword in my back is not moving on the standing animation.
Apart of that, the game have nice landscape and there's a lot of work on the hit effects.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game dude! I like the animations and the different attacks. The font was a bit unreadable and the locking of controls was slightly annoying. But other than that: nice! :D

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice graphics! Really liked the animations. This could turn into a great game.
Right now, the text is hard to read and it's not always clear when you can use a skill. As the others have said already, the delay between waves is a bit too long too.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:40pm

thanks a lot for playing, right now im still busy with exams :D, after that i will write my post-mortem also update it with no delay version

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:45am

My first impressions on the game :D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH7JhWYRUiI

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:12am

yay awesomee, thanks mate :D

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:00pm

There are very nice effects when attacks!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Great graphics! I not find the theme!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:02am

you only'd one life, your hp and mp will not reset for each battle, only with one life you should able to clear all stages :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Amazing! Had lots of fun in an OdinSphere kind of way! Top marks!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:50am

The game graphics and music was cool but the game wasn't really that fun
kind of beat the game mashing space

lotusgame says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:20am

Really nice game extremely well polished. Too bad it's a little repetitive. If you let space pressed, you beat waves after waves without doing anything else. But make this game in 48 hours is a real achievement ! Bravo :)

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:31am

about Space, i designed it like that, it makes easier than pressing space to space to chain the combo, thanks for playing

zkenshin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really nice graphics and audio, nice entry. :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Good job! Great graphics and audio :D

OneDee says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:50am

Love it!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:35am

thanks a lot for playing, yeah im gonna work the full version after done with my exams , i've planned a lot before, story, gameplay, music etc but only this i can achieve for ludum dare, :D ;D

Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:26am

The graphics are awesome, really nice artwork ! I like the customization of the character with the different talents.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Using the upgrades screen before even playing the game one time is hard to apprehend.
A couple of solid things, like the background music and animation. I could go through the first level just by holding space down and waiting though.

somepx says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Good background and animations, should be a little faster!

anvoz says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

It looks very impressive right from the screenshots. The animation and music were awesome. The skill system was really well made. Great work!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

It looks a very huge game and I think you guys were at the right direction.
With some changes, this could be a great web game.
My complains is that the level up system is too complex, but gameplay is too simple.
Other than that, very good!

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

Amazing work for a jam!

henrykun says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Great art, nice concept. The only thing I didn't like so much was waiting so long to start.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:59am

now there're 2 version, Updated and Original, just read my post above for instructions

loxo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:46am

Great game! I like the graphics and the gameplay. But it takes some time to understand the complex skill system. I played the web version and had two problems with the game. The text looks different to the screenshots provided by you. The letters are a bit bolder and less space between them, so sometimes the text is really hard to read. The second problem is the recognition of the z key. It takes several key presses to switch to the next screen.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:31am

thanks for playing, about several key , no it's not, when you press Z, the loading will start, just wait it :D :D :D
okay okay thanks for noticing me

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Game is very good. Love the art style.

ENDESGA says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:19am

Great game, awesome graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]