December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dangerous pursuit

by LemonTree - Jam Entry

I did this game for LD#28 with my 4,5 years old son.

Tools; Unity3d (Used first time), pencils, Nikon D50

Controls:
Gamepad: Jump - A, Fire - B, Controls - arrows.
Keyboard: Jump - space, Fire - Z, Controls - arrows.


Background music from FEZ game - http://fezgame.com/
http://disasterpeace.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#37Humor(Jam)3.70
#103Mood(Jam)3.46
#108Graphics(Jam)3.96
#264Audio(Jam)2.88
#311Fun(Jam)2.74
#370Overall(Jam)2.85
#416Innovation(Jam)2.41
#523Theme(Jam)1.85

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

You've got a future artist on your hands!

miklyha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09am

Fun Game! )

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Funny Game. A bit short but the graphics are sweet. :-) I have a 5 years old son too. I know how funny this is to make a game together.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Tell your son great job. Everything felt right

Skulls says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

When I saw this art on the previews I was intrigued. I ended up really liking the artwork and the animations, it was all well done. My only complaints would be that the game was very short and had zero difficulty but it was an enjoyable game that will stick in my memory as a unique cool idea.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44am

Music in the main menu would have helped.

Adorable graphics.

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

Wow that's adorable. I wish I can draw like this.

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54am

great.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I really enjoy this game and especially like that you had your son join in the development. The art is awesome - all platforms should have beards. It would be really cool to see a larger game with your kid doing the art for it. Great work.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Happy dad thoughts

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Well, that was... short?

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:51pm

This is fantastic

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Your son has solid programming skills.
Joke aside - it's really cool to see a) people making games with their children/family and to see b) young people making games. Never played a balloon!

bentog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:04am

Cool art style, adds a lot to the humor. I wish it wasn't so short, the controls were very tight! Could have been a nice, long platformer...

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:29am

You've done a really excellent job adapting and animating his drawings.

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Best graphics ever... Too much fun,,, redator to get a sequente...

stvr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:43am

The art is not only well done but implemented well; it looks and feels like playing a kid's drawing! However, you should not have used Disasterpeace's copyrighted music without permission. :(

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:57am

Your son rocks! :D

LemonTree says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:27pm

2 stvr: Sorry! I didn't write that I did this music. And also I think it's possible for jam category to use additional assets.

jerombd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

It's nice to see you put your son's drawings into the game: I like this moustachioed blocky characters^^

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:30pm

hahahaha cute drawings here :D your son is going to be an artist :D fun game :D great work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]