December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Torch

by XmmmX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My fourth LD entry. :)

This time I had a really busy weekend so please excuse me for any bugs, errors or mistakes I made. I will fix them as soon as possible.

The Last Torch is a very simple dungeon crawler where you only have one light source left. Keep the fire alive as long as you can or else the hungry cave bats are going to eat you up. Will you be able to find the exit before the torch runs out?
Good luck and have fun!

Made using
Java with LWJGL
Paint.NET for graphics
sfxr for sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#253Mood3.15
#255Overall3.31
#274Theme3.28
#320Fun3.14
#455Innovation2.97
#473Graphics2.97
#482Humor2.27
#587Audio2.33

Comments

Pantzar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

I like the shrinking field of view as an indicator for how long before the torch runs out.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

I liked it pretty much, only those blocks were pretty hard to move in the right direction, because the hitbox seems kind of fucked up a little. But it's fine this way, so it wasn't to easy to finish =)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Good game. The bats at the edge of the light really add to the mood.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Great game, I beat it! I like the progression and the mood. Nice take on the theme, I centered my game around one torch as well ;)

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice game. I love the way how the game tells you how to play the game on the go, like in those classic games... Its a fun game, addictive and challenging too!

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Good concept and game,I love it! :)

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Cool game! :)
The fov and bats flying away made it look awesome. I would add an animation to the field of view to make it look more like fire! Cool graphics and idea.

The collision is a little messy but that's ok!
Great job! :D

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it!

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:53am

A rock spoke to me '.'
Really fun game, i liked the graphics and the animation where smooth! +1 for the mood :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Awesome game. Really enjoyed it. Maybe the character could have been done better, but other than that, no compaints.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Delivered more than I expected, really solid stuff! I think I looked good as a corpse.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The bats look really cool. Difficult to move the blocks around at times, but there's a lot here for 48 hours.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:27pm

great way of making ld crawler, probably much better then the one we chose. with a bit more polish and balancing it could be absolutely perfect.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]