December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Planet

by Xaychru04 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a little robot and you live alone on your little planet. Unfortunately, UFOs are coming from everywhere and they are going to invade your planet. But you wont let them land on your planet, because it's yours, and you only get one. (Complete story ingame :) )


If you need some help concerning the controls, or some advices, I put a readme in the archive. This is my fourth LD, I'm proud of it, and it looks like I'm improving my art. The music has been made in the last three hours though, so yeah, it's a little short and rushed.
Anyway, this game was extremely fun to make, I really hope you will enjoy it! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#10Audio4.02
#13Graphics4.41
#21Fun3.88
#32Overall3.90
#72Humor3.59
#77Mood3.64
#95Theme3.67
#161Innovation3.48

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Very fun! I love the sound design, beginning text, and the main gameplay xD. Very well done! Visual design is spot on too. It's very tight <3

Galbix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31am

Cooooooool.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Interesting game! I failed to do my world justice, but I had fun failing to save it at least. :)

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Wow, nice game, I really like the concept of being on a small planet - Graphics are sought and neat, good job !

zhugolaf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

very good game !

lofe09 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I really like this game, great job :)

KayZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Black holes have consumed every star and every planet. Except for all the stars sparkling in the background :). Love your art style and humor.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07pm

If this doesn't win at least one category then someone is joshing with me. Seriously, you excel in this game. Well done on every level!

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Love the intro, audio, and the art is fantastic, especially when in motion. C++/SFML -> .exe makes it a little less portable, try to compile with emscripten? Maybe make enemy spawning a bit more predictable. 5/5/4/5/5/5/5/5 Great!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Thanks for your feedback, I really appreciate this!

@KayZ: Haha I know, but I didn't want the background to be empty... Oh wait, you're wrong, the stars in the background look like they were billions of year ago, because the light isn't coming instantly! :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

@cwkx: I never tried emscripten, I don't know if it's compatible with SFML... I'll have a look at it when I got time!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Love it! Spent at least one minute enjoying the fact that I can run into my own bullets by inverting my direction ;)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Neat game! I love the graphics and the wall of text! :-)

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

woooow! loved!, is freggin' awesome!. love the humor and art!

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44am

This was a great game. Best game i've played so far. All 5 stars...because really when i think about it, it was all great.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33am

Wow, this is some really nice visual design! I liked the humorous intro, the gameplay is straightforward and easy to grok, and the audio does an excellent job at supporting your visuals, gameplay and mood. This is a coherent and really enjoyable entry. Good job!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Gorgeous pixel art, really impressive for just 48 hours! :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

The graphics really shine here. :D

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Really cool entry. The mechanics were definitely interesting and it's very addictive to play. The music was also very FUNKY. Really nice work, well done.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Great art, music and gameplay! Fun and challenging. Overall really well done. Love the pixel art.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27pm

awesome graphics, gameplay, music, sound effect. it feels so satisfying to shoot stuff. animation is amazing. really awesome game!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Great job ! The graphics is nice and the music is awesome ! Amazing !

Norgg says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18pm

So smooth. Loved the little touches like the icey patch.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Really nice entry, well done, loved the art. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Man, that art style is awesome - like, pixelart, but more fluid or something. Hard to explain, but I loved the look. Gameplay was really fun too :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Very good game, one of my favorites. I love the graphics.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Like the game, the different monsters and ships are interesting, graphics was nice and music was nice. Kind of wondering where my universedestroyingpowers went after the intro but who knows.

There doesn't seem to be any drawback from shooting all the time, navigating upside down is quite difficult and sometimes the planetdestroyers fire a bit too quickly. The sound made when a new letter appeared in the intro was quite annoying.

Overall a nice game with some room for improvement.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Cool game, I love the graphics and the music.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Sound designed matches the game perfectly (diddledeed-did-deed!). Very much fun!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Excellent game. This game is already production ready. Fiddled a little with the shader to alter it :-D would be nice to include a CRT shader too ;)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33am

Impressive! Graphics and audio are awesome, one of the best entries in the Compo categories for sure. Gameplay is fun, too, and the intro text made me laugh when I reached the end.

Amazing work!! :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:18pm

The difficulty curve is spot on, I can tell this was playtested enough. I appreciate the spherical coordinate physics, it just could use some kind of a reminder of which direction is relatively left and right. Props for being able to shoot horizontally, vertically -and- diagonally.

In addition, it looks and sounds alright, too bad you used that terrible font and sfxr blips.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Very fun game. I wish the player had more than one hit to die though. I feel a bit cheated when I die.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Very good game. Very difficult, dynamic and fast.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:06am

Awesome work, loved the especially pixellated pixel effect, the music rocked and the game was tough and addictive. Bonus points for palm trees. :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:09am

AWESOME! AWESOME... best game played so far. cool artworks... nice planet and gravity thing... cooldiffrent enemies... nice story! Enjoyed that really man! Cool Audio tooo!

Pomb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:53am

Rad game, Really cool mechanic, awesome graphics and groovy music, good job.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Really fun and addictive and the introduction text was hilarious.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:04pm

It seems I'm the only one that got a blue screen of death while playing this game. It occurred during the intro text. Using Windows 8.1.

After restarting the computer and trying again, the game is all black, but still plays sounds.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Funny game with lovely graphics :)

d__adee says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:44am

FUN! Quite addicting too. The art is really awesome! :D
I easily get confused though with controls, if only the robot faces the direction of where it's shooting too, not just when it moves.

But it's a pretty solid polished game. Good job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:04am

Thans everybody for playing my game and giving feedback!

@Jishenaz: Huh... I never tried my game on windows 8 and I won't be able to, so I don't know what causes the problem, sorry... :/

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:39am

Got a score of 1440 on my best run.
Overall well done entry. Pretty sick.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

I was able to test the game on Windows 7. Runs perfectly. Really cool graphics and gameplay! I love walking around little planetoids. :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:11am

@Alex Higgins: Thanks for playing, my best score is 11560! :p
@Jishenaz: Haha thanks! :)

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Really fun game! The graphics are great!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This was great fun! I absolutely loved the intro text, that was really funny .... this game comprises the last two LD's I took part in- Tiny World and You Are The Villain, coincidence? Lovely sounds and graphics, and funky music - compelling!

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Couldn't find the key to shoot, so I had to rely on gameplay video to score. I liked it very much, anyway!

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:28pm

@jimmypaulin: Thanks for playing! I didn't took part in the two LDs you mentionned though! :p
@Atridas: There is a readme in the archive, but I think an ingame indication about how to shoot/move would have been better, readme files don't work well on LDs... :/

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:58am

very fun and very nice-looking :) great job mate! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]