December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

8bit Rebellion

by havana24 - Jam Entry

Your 8 bit character has rebelled to the system.
He has trapped your thumb and the only way to free it is to destroy all enemies with only your index finger.
You only get one FINGER to beat your opponent!

-- Instructions ----------------------
- You have only 3 lives.
- Click to kill enemies.
- R to restart.
- Click on bomb and then click again on the A/B buttons in order to hit your character on top!
--------------------------------------
PLAY THE GAME: http://www.havana24.net/prototipi/8bitRebellion.html

I've used Stencyl, Paint Shop Pro, Audacity to make this game.

Hope that you like it, this is my first entry on LD! :)
- Alessandro Pezzetti

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#10Innovation(Jam)3.97
#27Humor(Jam)3.79
#83Audio(Jam)3.51
#86Fun(Jam)3.43
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#106Mood(Jam)3.45
#161Graphics(Jam)3.67
#188Theme(Jam)3.05

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

This game is great! Very creative!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Wow i really enjoyed the concept ! Good job ;)

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

wow ... love it!, so innovating. great job!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Mixing game screen and some photographic objects is a great idea. It creates a unique mood.
Also, nasty blue goombas !

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Now there's a huge smile on my face!)) Good job!)

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Good one! Had lots of fun. The whole design and idea is very well executed.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Ha, this was funny game. Great idea. Perhaps the finger press could have been bit more precise, but otherwise it played just fine.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

For my taste it's too repetitive and there is no emergent gameplay. Cute idea though and well executed for what it is.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Great game with really good music. And I like the break of the fourth wall. Wah! Boos and Goombas coming out of my gameboy ;)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Great idea! It was fun squashing those enemies. I wish the finger wouldn't hide most of the enemies under it. But otherwise a solid little game. :)

Thommy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I had a big smile on my face as the creeps came out of the game-*coughs*-NERDboy :D

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38pm

I got a bug when the shadow moved, but the finger didn't, excepting when I click.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Good to see another italian developer on here! Nice game!

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Great game! No one can beat 8 bit!

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Great game! I like the way your brain worked

drludos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

One of the most humorous games I've played so far! Excellent idea, I love it. The game is easy to play but not that easy to win (damn ghosts!)

One minor complaint: when the game is over, you should open a popup with your website that way - I was so "in the game" that I continued clicking after loosing the game, and that open a popup without me understanding what was happening. Maybe you should put the link & logo besides the games instead, it'll get the same ad effect without disturbing players ;).

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Haha, great game.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice game :D It's perfect for mobile phones :D

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Fantastic!

harsanalif says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Very unique setting. Love the usage of real finger photo in this :D
It's a bit hard to control using trackpad though :)

drnick says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very good! Brings me memories of my Game Boy Color! Very good idea you had to use those graphics!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:01pm

It's innovative as hell. It felt amazing playing it!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Funny as hell, solid game. I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Great idea.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:46am

Nice surrealist take on a classic game!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Heh. Quick, clean, and fun. Very nice!

y2bd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Absolutely loved the game, and I doubly-absolutely loved the music, almost to the point of losing because I wanted my finger mashing to match the music. Amazing work, and even more so seeing as it was your first LD.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice concept.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Pretty clever setup and design! Sadly I could hardly follow anything happening in the upper half of the screen since it the gameplay gets very intense right from the beginning.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Extremely cool. The mix of photos for the 'real' objects and sprites for the game enemies is done really nicely. Gameplay is solid and a really clever idea implemented very well overall.

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Very cool. :)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Simple but very nice :)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Cool! 5/5

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

That's just so freaking awesome. I love it.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Hilarious game!!!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Very cool concept. I had a hard time with lining up the finger with the goombas, but got the hang of it eventually.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Now that's an original idea! The graphics are great. The music annoyed me a bit, but that's pretty appropriate for a lot of game music of the era.

On the downside, the gameplay gets a bit repetitive (even though you introduce quite a bit of variety), and it's not always easy to know where you're putting your finger down. Still, a solid game, and very impressive for your first LD.

eskivor says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Hah ha, the game is funny, you have to aim with the shadow of the finger ^^
But, I'm not sure to understand what does the green line mean ? If it's a chain, it's not obvious enough, beacause it looks like a life bar.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:16am

Amazing job ! Very innovative idea. It was really funny to play ! Great work !

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Hahaha I like it lol.
The feeling of pressing finger is pretty fun!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Mario as enemy - yeah! I like how he looks like a commander sending the troops..

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Nice little game, but sometimes the hand glitched and stopped following the mouse (only moving after a click)...

jerombd says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

The controls are a bit awkward, but it's a very original game!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:54pm

IMO the delay in moving your thumb after hitting something makes the controls appear sluggish... great concept and execution!

greytram says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very nice game, simple but funny!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:25am

Genius work and very well made!

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Great game!
The idea is fantastic :D The graphics and sound are awesome too. Very old school :)
Nice work, keep it on!

shard123 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:12am

Really amazing and polished, awesome job!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This is great! I love how you took old games and made them into new games! Nice!

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Bravo Alessandro! :D

Jeremias says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:15pm

A very uncommon and original way of input. I really enjoyed the music, too. Sometimes it's hard to tell where the finger hits the surface.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:15am

Hahaha, funny idea! I got the bug with the shadow as others complained. Where you're moving only the shadow, and the hand is updated only when you click.

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:12pm

A bit too repetitive, but it's pretty original and the graphics are amazing.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Cool concept, game is quite hard, but controls are some uncomfortable ;) Anyway, very good!

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:21am

Very clever! Funny and original, good use of the theme!

mcapraro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:42pm

great concept, i love the idea of the game taking over and leaking out into the real world!

Jan 18, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k0tDkjFHSTY

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]