December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pillage Rush

by Jgpicatoste - Jam Entry

"Help this unlucky viking in his quest to kidnap the best girl of them all!"

All assets and mechanics were made from scratch in these past 72 hours.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Humor(Jam)3.41
#92Graphics(Jam)4.05
#133Theme(Jam)3.23
#166Overall(Jam)3.32
#205Audio(Jam)3.08
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#224Fun(Jam)2.99
#280Mood(Jam)2.85

Comments

funselektor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

You gotta speed up the intro 2-3 times faster, it was probably 2 minutes and not skippable... Graphics are top notch though.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00am

amazing graphics and nice programming, a bit too hard to not be able to switch girls i think (not able to dodge green ones), love to go from roof to roof ^^ good job!

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03am

The visuals are great. Nice setup with avoiding girls to get a "better" one down the road :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06am

Very cool graphics! Like funselektor said, the intro could use a way to be skipped.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15am

Love the audio. Maybe make it more visually obvious which girls are better to earn through sex appeal (makes sense in this context). Very well done

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

So bad for the intro... :( But cool graphics, and a funny game !

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

Well done! I really love the graphics and that this game is not that easy. Took me quite some time to get at least 3 different girls.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:57am

Great art, and the mechanics played really well too. But the concept was weird. Am I trying to avoid girls and get further to the village to get the best one or something? I can't control which one I pick up. Shows promise, lots of talent!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:58am

Awesome game! Surprisingly solid platforming mechanics for a game jam game.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44am

The music, the ambiance, and the background story get you right into the mood. I liked the game even before playing.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Great graphics and mechanics, sound is awesome too. Story though is much longer than shold be in small games

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice game, but i couldn't take the last girl :(

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Sweet pixel-art graphics! Cute little characters and SFXes. Was a little confused what was the goal at first (yeeeeh instructions aren't really my thing...) but after I understood the redheads were attracted to me like horseflies are to poop lol - then I started to explore further to find the princess in the white dress, or whatever she is. Not sure if I got more points for killing 95% of the women down the river, or if I earned more for chasing a few down to the boat... hmm.

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very innovative gameplay. At first I was a bit confused with a girl on my shoulder and didn't know what to do but later the greediness took me over to get the best one. Well done to graphics and programmation.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Nice graphics , Beautiful PA. But the game is very hard, I played a lot and could not 'get' all the four kinds of girls... Innovative and funny, a little bit difficult but I enjoy it.

wulfdesign says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Ha... that last crone was sure hard to avoid...

Deity says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

Funny idea and graphics and animations were well done. Seems the game ends after you get one. Would be a bit more interesting to return to the ship and go again. Nice work!

rezoner says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:54am

Oh this is the most cheerful village ever.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

Good idea and nice graphics (:

AHerdOfCats says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:16am

As everyone else says, needs a skippable intro, or some way to breeze through the dialog faster. But an intro, or any sort of story, is a blessing in a Ludum Dare.

It may be part of the design, but I couldn't figure out a way to put a girl down. Yes, its cool that you have to dodge the crazy women, but with how long level is... it just doesn't scream fun to me, that's all.

Art is amazing, love the simple pixel look. Platforming was a breeze as well!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:19am

like graphics, concept and gameplay :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I got the white dressed girl at the end for myself but couldn't find a way to jump back? Even with the holy powers of the horn of mighty fartin', I still only am able to jump half the way.
Fellow C2 user, I congragulate you all for this wonderfull game, very well done. Arts, music, theme, everything is in place. Gj :D

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:34pm

@windwalkerranger Thanks for everything! About the white girl... there is a platform in the middle, cause it needs to be done in two steps (two jumps, actually!). Hope that helps :D

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I was a little confused at first thinking I beat the game in like 2 sec, but then realized that there are achievements. Replay-ability is always a plus, very well done.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Great graphics, intro was a bit long. If I could manually advance the txt bubbles that would be a big improvement. Might be able to make it a bit clearer that you should be going further into the level to get a 'better' lady love. Cool game, great job! Would be fun if I could play as a viking women and search for hunky men...Maybe in NewGame+ :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Great. So far the funniest game. The jump its tricky but I love this game and the way of the first kind of maiden try to get caught by the viking xD. A ludumdare game with achievement, woah!

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:04am

Spectacular graphics. The intro was a buzz-kill though. Aside from that, quite a lot of fun!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01am

Beautiful artwork, and great sound. I was a little unclear on the objectives at first, but a really interesting idea once I figured it out :)

Ludipe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:47pm

5/5 in graphics, I loved them. Some instructions or tutorial should be added, it's a simple game and easy to understand but there were a few things that confused me.

P.D.: We also made our game with construct, check it out.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Great stuff - if you do post jam - the power-up/coin could be a little bigger. Really liked jumping over buildings and trying to dodge the green girls. :D

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Graphics are amazingly good for one weekend's work. Game is a great idea, but please offer an option to skip the intro.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great fun, I love your take on platforming and the tongue in cheek theme. A bit too difficult for me, but certainly enjoyable -- maybe an item you could pick at some point that allows you to dump one girl? The graphics and controls are this game's strongest points.

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Brilliant idea, best use of theme I've seen :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Cool game, innovative concept ! Great job !

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:27am

Funny, nice graphics, cool SFX/music.
I liked the use of the theme.
Unlike other comments, the intro was perfect for me on first run. I don't know if the option to skip the intro has been added since those comments since any time I "Play again" the intro was skipped and I directly started on the beach.

The game is indeed difficult, (tbh, I only captured 2 on 4 girls and did not really go for other achievements) but it makes an overall very pleasant/funny experience.

It's true also that, at first, the goal(s) is/are a bit confusing, and I understand people frustrated with the lack of a "switch girl" button ^^

After a few runs though it's obvious that there's been quite some thought put into it.


A little "sad note" on the controls, having and AZERTY keyboard, WASD is not the best control layout for me.
Maybe offer an alternative using the arrows and/or ZQSD that would be very nice/easier for me to control the character.

Very great job ! Congratulations !

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:22am

Amazing graphics and interesting mechanics, everything about this is top notch! The usage of theme is epic! xD

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I absolutely love it! Highest marks!

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Sexual violence as a primary game mechanic? Played for laughs? This is juvenile, disgusting, and cruel.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:00pm

@Chardish: Clearly, you didn't grasp the full message, and didn't play enough to see our statement on that particular matter. But everyone is entitled to their opinion, so thank you!

CatskullTeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Fantastic idea and game! It only needs a more ovious way to show which girls ar better and which are worse.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Amusing and great graphics! Wish I could drop the girls though. Did it miss instructions? It took a little while for me to figure out to use AWD for controls...

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

As has already been said, there really should be a way to drop a girl... or a better way to avoid them... Otherwise, this games feels more unfair than hard (to me).

Other than that, nice game! :)

30dogs says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Now THIS is an innovation in gameplay. Very cool idea and creative take on the theme. The art and overall presentation was really well done too. It's kind of a pet peeve of mine when a game is done in pixel art and many of the assets are different widely varying resolutions, but it's still a terrific job. I appreciated the intro scene.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]