December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball Carnage

by Moist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An exciting arcade experience filled with fabulous scarves waving just like real ones!

Test your reflexes while murdering innocent people with snowballs and wearing your amazing red scarf.

One snowball, one kill!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Fun3.88
#134Overall3.56
#145Audio3.26
#215Humor3.03
#270Mood3.12
#355Graphics3.20
#427Innovation3.00
#431Theme3.00

Comments

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

The projectile system seems really solid and I like the way enemy's slide backwards when you hit them.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

Fun game, also the first game which really did something smart with the theme :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59am

Awesome game. Reminded me of a friendlier and more complete version of mine. The perfect word to describe it is "Solid".

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26am

This is great! The sound when you hit someone gives the game a real solid feel

Cash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

Great game,it's a little weird to use the spacebar and x,I would have preferred Z for jumping and X for shooting but It doesn't matter much

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

Throwing felt really good, as did the enemy (and self) response to the snowballs.

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:35am

Really nice game. I like how the scarfs are flying around :)

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22am

Snowball deathmatch! Pretty nice

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Well, technically you get more than one snowball, but omg this game is great. Love it. So much fun.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Really fun to play, could imagine doing this multiplayer over a local network. :)

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nice game, and keeping snowballs out of enemy hands can get quite tactical.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52am

Simple yet satisfying gameplay. I love all the little details like how dead enemies slide around and the scarves wave. It's kind of annoying when enemies drop on top of a snowball or vice versa and you die really fast, but it's fun when an enemy drops right in front of you for an easy kill. I would love to see a multiplayer version of this, even if it's just local multiplayer.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37am

This game is FUN! Simple but very funny!

I would love to see this in multiplayer and with some kind of base or snow fortress!

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53am

I like the look of it. Scarves look great. Incredible how this little detail brings life up to an otherwise static layout.

Everything goes very smooth... I like the music also.

NB I hear a windows error sound each time I press the spacebar

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59am

Cutest game I have played so far.
So great, and suprisingly fun. Well done. :D

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Oh. My. Gosh. SO GOOD. Definitely one of my favorites so far ^_^ the sound and knockback are so clutch!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46pm

This makes me want to start a snowball fight :D
Cool and well executed idea. I love the wiggling of the scarfs!
The sound sets the mood very well.
Thumbs up!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Really cool, you should definitely add multiplayer to this because it'd make for a really fun hectic deathmatch. Really nice work on this, pretty damn addicting. Good game!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Cool game bro, stellar mechanics, stellar graphics, very fun to MLG 360 no scope some nubs. Only problem was lag later on. Also, a really cool feature would be to let enemies team kill each other, would make for some epic plays

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30am

Most satisfying snowball-thwacking since Calvin and Hobbes. :D Mrs. Berzee was watching over my shoulder and shouting WATCH OUT FOR THAT GUY. So, fun for the whole family. :P

(alas, I haven't any constructive suggestions -- well, aside from the obvious "more levels" and some kind of silly Story Mode that delves into the psyche and origins of our mysterious hero...).

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Lot of fun to play this game ;)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This is almost the greatest game ever made. If jump was up, not space it would be better. That is my only complaint. :p

I will play this for eternity.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Can't play, mac

Espyo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:27pm

That was really fun to play! There's a strategic element, but also a random one. Hitting others with snowballs and counter-attacking their missed shots is really satisfying.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:31pm

AWESOME! Awesome theme interpretation, i love the audio feedback of a kill...and that scarf! Great job!

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:32am

A lot of fun!

goerp says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Ah snowball carnage. I couldnt resist a title like that. Little Southpark children (or should I say sitting ducks?).
I liked the music, relaxed and not something you hear a lot on a Ludum Dare unless it was found on the internet.
Is it midi?

Moist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Thank you for rating, everyone!
@goerp: Yes, it is midi and it as generated using this awesome online tool: http://www.abundant-music.com/

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Solid gameplay, fun entry. :)

Rothens says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I love this :D

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:36pm

What a nice game! So simple yet so fun. Really well done. :) A snow falling effect would have been nice, but other than that there's nothing I'd change. I just spent at least 20 minutes with it and had a lot of fun, great work!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:59pm

The game was fun.
Nice job on the snowball ballistic.
I found the AI pretty good, maybe too good, you don't have too much chance if you are close to one of them.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Had a lot of fun playing the game, can't say often enough how awesome the red scarf is :) The game could need some powerups to add variations to it :)

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:49am

Fast, fun gameplay with an interpretation of theme that works.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:29am

Very fun game! Reminds me of a game I got sent in one of those forwards from grandma years ago, but your game is much better than it ;)

Thanks for submitting your game to the compilation as well!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:46am

Cool game ! I like the throwing physic ! Nice job !

Nelien says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Who cares about gameplay, look at those SCARVES! :P But no really, quite fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]