December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

brainstorm

by cardboard - Jam Entry

There are so many different ideas that could be used to make a game, but YOU ONLY GET ONE Ludum Dare submission, so you must weed out the weakest ideas until all that's left is the best idea possible. Naturally, the determining factor for the strength of an idea is its ability to box, so we've set up a boxing match between the two strongest ideas in order to see which will come out on top.

This is a two-player game! Player one controls the yellow idea with WASD and punches with LSHIFT; player two controls the green idea and uses the ARROW KEYS to move and SPACE to punch.

Run main.py to play (requires Python 2 and PyGame)



(created by cardboard and dsimmons05 in roughly 15 hours)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Humor(Jam)2.45
#289Graphics(Jam)3.14
#300Fun(Jam)2.77
#383Overall(Jam)2.82
#391Audio(Jam)2.32
#401Theme(Jam)2.36
#451Mood(Jam)2.30
#475Innovation(Jam)2.24
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06am

I didn't play the game because the game wasn't packaged neatly. It required installing additional source code, like pygame.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I don't know how to run this. I like the visuals. I think you should do an exe.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:43am

This game really needs an AI to play against. I doesn't make sense to test the game-mechanics, when you're alone. But I still like the nice graphics and music.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:51am

Interesting idea! I seem to be able to phase through the other player when running head-on into each other. You might want to think about reworking your physics.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:43am

A little too simple, but a good distraction with a friend.

bensoto says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:04am

the graphics caught my attention but I couldn't play it

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice. I like the visuals. Gmaplay give tons of laugh with any friends :D

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:01am

Graphics are cool but music is a little annoying ;) I think there should be a better way determine who wins when both players fall off the platform.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:25am

Nice little fighting game.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:22am

Cute graphics, music looping was a little annoying.

_zulli says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:20am

Had some fun time with my younger brother playing this game! Pretty cool! However found a little glitch. When you make one player stop on top of the other and the player on top starts punching both start flying! :P

Cool :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:45pm

My right hand won against the left one :)
Nice gfx the looping tune is ok for me but I didn't play for long.

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:11pm

A few minutes of insane button mashing and crazy fun. A great idea it was indeed.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Funny idea! Love the ironic LD point of view! :)

KEFIR says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:16am

It's not really fun to play it alone :) But still this is a fun idea! Great visuals by the way!

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice graphics. It was fun punching around the piss-poor theme that is "you only get one" :) A few collision detection issues. Overall though good work.

Yoni says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Couldn't play because I have no friends :(
Just kidding. Nicely done! I love the artwork on this one!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:31pm

That was fun. It would be good if you added a single player mode too, but playing against someone else at the same keyboard is always a lot of fun.

Not entirely convinced by the music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]