December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

scrionevoloooom

by hnjslater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to do a more traditional game for this one. And what is more traditional than an awful shmup?

I also wanted to try some challenging controls, so for this game you'll be using H,J,K,L like my favourite editor (vim). You might want to hit space from time to time too.

THERE IS NOW A WINDOWS BUILD!

To make it work, you'll need to install pygame and then run main.py. On debian type Linuxes that's:

sudo apt-get install python-pygame
wget https://github.com/hnjslater/scrionevoloooom/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
cd master
python main.py

I'll try and get it packaged up for windows tomorrow. I developed it on a mac so it definately works on a mac but I've never got a pygame packaged properly there.

My main regret is doing a full day of real work on Saturday. Also not making a better game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#673Innovation2.63
#736Humor1.67
#889Mood2.05
#941Fun2.04
#961Overall2.24
#971Graphics1.68
#984Theme1.70

Comments

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Interesting mechanic rotating the ships, though it was kinda tough for me to switch to the shield guy to use it in time to help out a whole lot. Works fine on my Windows 7 machine btw

tompudding says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I won! The mechanic is just the right kind of unusual, but the control scheme is too unusual! My little finger does not want to play games, garrrrrgh.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This was weird but it was good x3

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

Oh man installing Pygame on Windows is such a pain. All I have currently is Pyglet. Please make a ready to run executable if you can.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

Needs a windows executable, rather than making everyone download pygame.

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

could not run... I guess I don't have pygame..? not sure

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

It difficult and confusing, but I somehow won.
I like the concept of having the specialized ships rotate out though.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

Kind of cool having different ships to switch on-the-fly. Even though it kind of goes against the "you only get one" theme. Controls are definitely odd, but I still managed to win the game, but I only used the starting ship.

pwnedu46 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

I have python 3.3 and pygame installed but couldn't get it to work. Is this written in python 2?

donaldducky says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

I wanted to try this but I can't seem to install pygame on OS X.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Since I do not have Python installed I cannot play. Shame. :(

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

pwnedu46, Ok it works in python3 now (a couple of one liners, I think it counts as porting)

FelixNemis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Nice little game, interesting mechanic. A bit too easy, won on my first try. Graphics could definitely use quite a bit of work.
Remember sound is always a bonus, even if it's just a few sound effects.
Good luck and keep at it!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

A bit short and confusing, it's hard to immerse in the game without music. =/
Don't understood how to kill the fat mobs, but the fact you've got several specialized ships is pretty cool. =)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Not playable on a mac.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

I actually developed in on a Mac, so it is playable, you just need to install pygame. Frankly, I've never managed to get py2exe or pyinstaller to work on a Mac and I'm not madly inclined to have another go. If you really want to play it, install pygame. If you don't, I can live with it.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:22am

Little weird but I like it! :)

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14am

Funny little shmup, but not sure to understand why i had win Oo

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:10am

Interesting game, but the controls were, honestly, very difficult to grab... and then there was the mysterious "I won?" Not sure how that happened. :P

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:37am

Challenging. Default controls made it difficult, though interesting.

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:57am

Decent game. Man... the controls were awful. In the end I just used the shield ship to block everything by tapping space repeatedly and won.

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Rotating between weapons is an interesting idea. It takes time to get used to the controls. Maybe a control where you immediately switch between the 3 weapons would be better. Before I knew it, it said "you won".

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:24am

Well, all you promised was an awful shmup so I'm not disappointed :P

It's not so awful, switching weapons happened too slowly to be more than a gimmick though. Also, I'm against button mashing. I'm not against inexplicably winning though (Was I the alien horde all along?)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]