December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Day at the Homunculus Races

by PaulSB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Requires Unity Web Player*

Roll up, one and all! The eminent doctors Crank, Fryx and Nebeldew offer up the latest fruits of their laboratories for an exciting day of racing action! Care for a punt? You do not possess any dollarz? Well we can give you a little head start. But you only get one...

Pick your champion and double your stake at the homunculus races! Information on the specimens is scant, but over time can you learn which racers are the more viable on each track? Good luck!

Made with Unity. Art with Inkscape and GIMP.

Sorry no audio on this one! Listen to some nice music instead. You deserve it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#365Humor2.56
#640Theme2.61
#685Innovation2.61
#768Fun2.44
#806Overall2.61
#843Graphics2.17
#861Mood2.13
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

Haha, nice to spend some time laughing my ass off and gnashing my teeth over which of the random creeps can win. Maybe this is why I shouldn't go to Las Vegas? This game's a blast!

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

bet $100 and won! interesting concept... it would be nice if the racers were more dynamic, i.e., randomly generated... for example, height is related to acceleration, arm length is related to how fast they get tired, etc... (though maybe that would be too hard to figure out!) something like that...

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I lost all my money :(

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Ha this was fun, I like that there was some sort of logic to it. Very fun, well done!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:43pm

I lost all my cash.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Really fun game, I love betting XD I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

PaulSB says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Thanks for playing all! (and I watched your video Jupiter - nice :)

Aaants says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Cool, it reminded me of the countless 2p coins I lost on this sort of game as a kid in the arcade :)

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I got addicted to betting, good work!

diegocbarboza says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice game! Maybe you could add local multiplayer. It would be nice to compete against other players!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Neat idea. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]