December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Long Live the Queen

by turnip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

- Mouse over pieces to see possible moves
- Click a square to move your Queen there
- Take enemy pieces and don't get taken!
- Press 'm' to mute audio

It's chess but with modified rules. You only have a Queen and after each turn the enemy will spawn an additional random piece on a random square on the board. For each piece your Queen takes you gain points based on the value of that piece. Once your Queen is taken by an enemy piece, the game is over.

Music by me. SFX by me, but the original source audio files are from freesound.org. Full credits in the Kongregate description.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#59Audio3.58
#84Overall3.70
#155Theme3.52
#166Mood3.35
#172Graphics3.67
#226Fun3.30
#427Innovation3.00
#431Humor2.38

Comments

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Nice idea and nice game. I like it. Want more :D

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Awesome! Very reminiscent of my first gamejam game, InfiKnighte, but with many more chess pieces programmed in. Really polished though considering!

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very good use of the theme, I liked it!

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Very nice entry. Good graphics, great mood with the audio.
One thing you could add is a visual feedback when you hover a square to make the queen move.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Brilliant! Very good concept (I like it better than regular chess!). Well done indeed, my highest rated game so far. :)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Nice spin on a classic. Got screwed by a load of rooks spawning at once :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Any decent chess player can potentially just play this infinitely. Could be a nice tool for people trying to get the board vision to reliably see captures.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Very cool idea! Simple, but well-executed and properly challenging!

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:44pm

This is a real fun game, it's just awesome. Amazing job.

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:45pm

This is a real fun game.

tomc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Surprisingly polished for a 48 hour game!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I couldn't get your game to load for me T___T

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Is a good version of Chess. Nice game and nice job! I like it... :)

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Very nicely done. Music is nice, but I can't say that I enjoy hearing the queen scream.

Shouldn't this be a Jam entry due to the audio sourced from others?

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very interesting concept!

turnip says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Thanks for all the nice comments guys.

@jillytot - strange, I assume you have the Unity3d plugin installed? Worked for everybody else.

@laaph - I don't know. I only sourced the raw audio. All the music composition, effects on the raw audio etc are done 100% by me. The source audio is royalty free. To me, what you're saying is kind of like saying it should be a jam entry because I used Unity3D which is programmed by others...

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I think I enjoy this version of chess more than the original. Really good idea and very well executed. The music and sound set the mood really well too.

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46am

Really unique idea for a game. The AI is so good at covering all of their own pieces!

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Wow. First time I'm playing horror-chess. I guess you've just invented a new genre right here!

Great atmosphere and great game mechanics idea, too bad it can't be done with real chess in the real world, unless you utilize dice or some other RNG.

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Interesting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]