December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hasty Pirate

by Thijsku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A platformer in which you can travel by boat and land. You are playing John Brown Beard. The red pirates stole all his gold. He only gets one day to get the gold back. Or else news will spread out, and he will lose his reputation as a great pirate..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Fun3.46
#154Humor3.21
#156Graphics3.72
#163Overall3.49
#262Mood3.13
#305Audio2.87
#577Innovation2.79
#751Theme2.43
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

maxim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44am

Combat feels great. The game view needs to be wider for you to be able to anticipate and react to obstacles.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54am

BEST GAME EVER! <3 <3 <3

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Awww your pixel art is so nice! *_*

sgehlich says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Not loading for me :(

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Thanks for the comments so far. :)

@sgehlich: which browser are you using? I might upload a .exe file, perhaps that will work.

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I really enjoy music and graphics! Well done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Good game, a lot more challenging than I was expecting. Couldnt get past the boss but I enjoyed this game

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

I've enjoyed the graphics and didn't get past the big shark.. couldn't jumped over the obstacle in the right moment. I'm not rating the audio as all I heard was some roaring instead of music (first few seconds there is some melody - then only roar - Firefox 25). Sounds played ok.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Really cool game. Best pirate chasing gold being chased by shark cannon game ever. Really nicely made. Well done! (The Cannon LIVES).

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I won it! Moar plez? :I

sadiquo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Love the game, but I find the size of the window for the game was too small ;)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I love the art!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16pm

A game well done! It has good graphics, engaging gameplay and a funny story.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Very very cute - Construct2 was a good choice mate! ;)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:43pm

haha, I thought that was great, something really funny about it. however i did stop being able to go in the water , it kept forcing me back onto land. I liked the art :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The graphics look pretty cool! I specially liked the parallax backgrounds.
I usually don't like procedurally generated music, but I think in this case it makes the game more charming.
Overall, a pretty fun game!

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Love everything about this game, so 8-bit it brings a tear to my eye!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice game but the part with the huge shark is hard !

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Ahoy!! I was passin' by and I noticed this game in Metaldemon's Twitch channel, and I have t' admit it's completely awesome. Good job, graphics, gameplay and music, which sets t' mood :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:00pm

WOW! Bloody shark! I almost break my mouse on it. Excellent game! I really enjoyed it! :-)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Awesome game! love the beards :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great graphics and cool little story to play through. The boss was a touch annoying though just because you kind of have to learn what's coming and try to avoid it rather than do it through skill

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice game but, even at low low volume, the game is sending some very loud and nasty ticks to my headphones. not so pleasant!

That aside, great stuff.

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Cant go wrong with sharks! Saw the first screenshot of this last weekend in a post of yours and it turned out quite well! I really like the mix of the different mechanics and enemies. Well done!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Hard to see the brick on water, maybe you should add some catchy color or something. Great game anyway.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33am

This was really fun to play. I like the art style! Good job!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:50am

I like the little story elements, like the reveal before the boss.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:30am

that jumping over the brown pole is so annoying :D. Also the character is far towards right of the screen. overall good.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Although sometimes quirky (the poles), this is a great game. Had a laugh shooting down those pirates on the island. Thanks!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:29am

Loved the day-night cycle moving between levels. Couldn't defeat the shark. :( Bonus points for authentic pirate beards. :)

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I like the boss even though the time to prepare for the different obstacles was very short the boss was a nice addition. Also the level before the boss to prepare for the encounter was nice. Didn't quite understand how the swordcombat worked when playing. Really liked the hills in the background and the sun and the day and night cycle.

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:32am

Very cool - you linked a video on juice as a comment on my game, and playing yours I totally see that you've done a great job at it! It really helps your game stand out.

Cool original concept, good feel, variety of actions to take, nice graphics... you've got a lot here for a solo compo entry!

I did encounter a weird glitch after fighting three guys on an island with a little hill on it, before the cannon section. I got to the end of their island and tried to proceed, but the game kept glitching me backward onto their island, whereas in previous levels it had teleported the boat under my feet. I tried and tried to move forward but could not and almost gave up on the rest of the game. But I finally managed to proceed by going back to my boat and sailing BACKWARDS past the beginning of that checkpoint, at which point I seemed to take damage and then suddenly be in another level with a cannon on my boat. From there I was able to go forward.

The end boss... man, I love that you included an end boss, but it felt really unfair to me. I tried like fifty times. I kept hitting a pole or a box and then he'd eat me. I think that the time it took for the pole/box to come onto the screen, I basically had to already be jumping, or at least my reflexes were not up to the task. My "strategy" was to memorize what background hills were just before the obstacle, and then jump at the memorized position. This was not really a valid challenge, in my personal opinion, though maybe you meant it on purpose as a throwback to certain old-school styles, which I can understand but don't personally enjoy. If I was supposed to somehow stand and fight the shark, I didn't figure that out, and you can blame me for being a dummy.

My final nitpick (and I only nitpick because this is such an otherwise strong game), is that the sharks in level 1 were a bit dull, as you just kind of stop to wait for them. Except for the first time when I didn't know then, if they hit me, it was because I got bored of waiting. I think with a small adjustment something more interesting could have been going on with them.

Anyway, couple of minor flaws aside this is a very strong entry! Excellent work, I'm really impressed by the level of presentation polish on this game.

Thijsku says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:28am

Wow, thanks for taking the time to write all that! The teleporting back was on purpose, since you had to jump from pole to pole. However, this wasn't really clear in the game, and that part of the level was kinda rushed, so I really can't blame you for that!

Haha, you're not the only one who's having trouble with the boss. You're right when you say this was meant to be a throwback to old-school style games. Next time, I'll try to make my bosses challenging, but more fair.

About the sharks in level 1: I can only agree with you. I should've added more variety to the level/sharks. This is something I'll definitely remember for my future games!

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Overall really good.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Excellent little game ! I really enjoyed it all along.. and i finished it :) Graphics are cute and the story is too funny ! One of the best entry from my point of view :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Pretty pixel art, the gameplay was great. Not really innovative, but I really had fun playing it!

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:46am

Really great entry, but that boss... I was ready to flip my desk over :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]