December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Redneck Safari

by pereubu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Redneck Safari is the ultimate redneck hunting simulator.
Feel the fresh air of the nature blowin' on yer cheeks.
Take yer rifle and hunt these animals down. Make mother nature yer bitch.
And if those guys are annoyin' ye, shoot em' down too !

Use WASD to move the mouse to aim/shoot/hide.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#31Humor3.87
#34Fun3.81
#90Overall3.68
#95Graphics3.91
#138Mood3.42
#205Audio3.10
#704Innovation2.58
#853Theme2.19

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

"Files seem corrupt" Bugger give me a shout when you think it's ready.

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49am

Yeah sorry, I was updating the link. It now seems loaded and i'll optimize the game package asap.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59am

Merica F... Yeah!
Nice game :).
But I'm french I don't have a QWERTY keyboard. :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04am

It works now. The art was phat. I probably shot more wildlife agents than other animals.

ydg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39am

Best main menu ever!
The game itself is very fun, although bushes and trees are maybe too overpowered :D, you can pretty much extinct all the animals while hidden once you get the improved rifle. Great job!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Cool art and sounds! Great menu too. Loved the gameplay although I think the upgraded gun is a little too overpowered.

Pol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:31pm

<3

Pol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Also : best gaem menu evrrr

Jilt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Stop flood Pol srsly. It's innapropriate. I think the artist want feedbacks more than random comments. You should really respect others people's work.

Geoege says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08pm

18 Mo you must be joking :sick:
Btw awesome game, really great !

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

The game was actually pretty fun, I thought from the menu it would be a joke game. Solid entry!

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The game itself is really great, however I don't get how it has to do anything with the theme?

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Amazing! AMERICA SALUTES YOU, SIR

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

So surprised! It's actually an amazing game. So many little details makes it feel right.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Solid entry. Great visuals and sounds. Theme??

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:40pm

"File seems corrupt" :(

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@Sylence and kratorspore :
Well thank you, actually, the original idea was to hunt the rare last animal of its specie. There's a rare animal you can find and if you kill him, his specie will extinct. The rest of the fauna is just here to be murdered as well, and only some mad players are actually finishing'em all.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

IT'S FUN TO BE AMERICAN

Evilion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Actually some americans are women sometimes.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I'm not sure how it fits the theme but its fun.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49am

Just aim run and shoot. Funny game. Nice graphics and audio. Well done dev!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Oh whaaat... I'm the redneck?
I played for a few minutes hunting down the other hunters before I read the description haha. It was much more fun killing humans than driving animals extinct D:
Epic art again! Very quirky and awesome!!

Andrew Brophy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This is so what. Nice work.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Damn! nice graphics :D loving the game, very fun! :D Great work! :D

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Hey I came here looking for a joke game! This is instead a solid entry, what gives?

I would've liked more variety in sound effects and gameplay. The golden rifle is a nice touch but you don't get it soon enough. The screen shake was just a little too severe, IMHO.

Awesome game!

Jan 20, 2014 @ 10:15am

I made a video of the game here

Jan 20, 2014 @ 10:16am

I made a video of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoU-cMysQyU

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]