December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exclamation Life

by Punga - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adventurer game with story. It's about you only getting one existence... It's your thing what will you do with it.. You may do stupid things... But you also may be really usefull, and heroic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Humor2.82
#746Innovation2.50
#829Fun2.35
#909Theme2.00
#941Graphics1.89
#951Overall2.29
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nice story :P

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

One of the more unique games. It felt a little bit masochistic playing the game until the end. Liked your writing style and I actually planned to tell you about your typos but apparently the text is self aware and put these typos in there on purpose!

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

this story is better than bioshock...

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Funny writing, though not sure how I was convinced to do all those strange things.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03pm

The story is definitely better than bioshock, but that's not saying much. I think this is a very interesting genre, and you did well to explore it for ludum dare. I would say: go deeper. Control the player psychologically, rather than just by limiting their options.

Check out "in the stream". http://in-the-stream.com/

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Dat dragon

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Also, good writing can replace vulgarity perfectly. I was kind of 50/50 on saying this (as is evidenced by me posting two comments), since you probably will just think I'm an upset old man, or something. Seriously, though, the most shocking and upsetting things I've ever heard were not "retard" or "nigger": if you want to make a really evocative game that enrages the player, do it subtly. You know what I mean? The truth, man, the truth can be way more shocking and enraging than meaningless, out of context, curse-words.

Punga says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

arrogant.gamer: Thank you. I'm not a native english speaker, do it is not as easy for me to express some things in another way. I also didn't cosider most of these words as "cursing"... maybe with an exception of "dumbass". I was convinced that the rest are just mean words, but not curse words. I also don't recall using a word "nigger".. Anyway, thank you for your time. Next Ludum Dare I will try to make it less "cursative". ;D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Lol, nice story.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]