December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 Baller Resource Brick Braker

by ItsSacraficed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

4th entry this time made in c# XNA.

Custom brick breaker game.

You only get 1 ball if you lose that ball your game over!
The task is to gather as many Emeralds as you can before you lose your ball.

If you get an error that you need XNA theres an download link in the text file/Here titled XNA.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#733Overall2.73
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27am

Good effort at a breakout style game. I like the different resource idea. I notice that you can change the direction of the ball. In a lot of breakout games you can do this by moving as the ball hits the bat or making the ball hit close to the edge of the bat.

Pantzar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30am

I couldn’t start the game due to missing resource. I checked the source and it turned out that it was a missing font. I changed it to something more common (Arial) and managed to start the game.
I found the pad to move a bit too slow, it became next to impossible to keep up with the ball. My best score: 0.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22am

I love these games :D good stuff.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I like the resources concept.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Really nice spin on the traditional block-ball type of game. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Not a bad idea, but I don't think it works unless you get the Breakout physics properly; if you can't aim the ball, there's no way to manipulate what resources you get except for the 2-for-1 selling after each round.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Good attempt, though I'd prefer it if the paddle moved faster.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Wow this is frustrating !! The ressource stuff seems awesome but what the needs for it if I can't choose what I farm :(

Try to change ball angle depending on the pad spot where the ball bounce. It should make the make a lot more enjoyable to play.

That's a very good idea,I hope you will dig it up !

Atridas says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:28am

I know people have already commented it, but I'll say it anyway:

- If you can change the direction of the ball, I didn't find how. This is important because the resource idea gets wasted if you can't aim the ball (and I really liked that idea).

- The pad moves at the same speed as the ball. Again, this just makes the game harder with no reason. You only get to follow the ball, no decision making. And no decision making makes me sad :-(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]