December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Trials of Chad

by Aaants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide Chad through his trials using various power ups.

Chad is controlled with the keyboard. Press M at any time to mute. You only get 1 minute per trial.

I didn't have a massive amount of time to balance it out. Some levels are very tricky and some jumps could be reworked. I'd probably tone down the hitboxes too if I went back to it. It is possible to finish though, so that's something! :)

I'd recommend using WASD to move and clicking the mouse to dash, as double taps often move you into the baddies before you hit the key the 2nd time. I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#68Fun3.65
#97Overall3.67
#117Audio3.35
#314Mood3.03
#381Graphics3.14
#395Humor2.48
#422Innovation3.02
#594Theme2.69

Comments

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Dude! the game is awesome! I sometimes get a big fame drop for a few seconds all else is just perfect!

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very enjoyable game! Reminds me of DLC Quest which is always a good thing. I really like the transitions and your take on a classic genre.

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

Great game, very well implemented and polished, nice graphics and mechanics!.

Grafter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:38am

Awesome game! Love where you need to control the two blocks!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Really well done and polished game! I liked the simple graphical style and music.

Only thing that annoyed me was how super cheap the final level was. One mistake and the green arrows fly you all the way back to the start of the room. Very irritating.

Hiku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

1974 seconds ! Very good game :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

This is very well designed and a lot of fun! Like the way you spelt out 'LD' for Ludum Dare with the coins too. Really impressive for 48 hours, good work! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Awesome stuff. Some good difficulty balancing in repeating levels till you have enough upgrades to succeed depending on how good you are, and the music was nice.

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very well done entry!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Solid game, good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

really nicely done! I like the ascetic a lot. very simple but still nice to look at. I didn't get the whole dash thing at first but after a few tried i figured it out.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Nice! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I played the first couple of levels and thought "OK, this is a decent puzzle-platformer, buying power-ups is cool, but apart from that it isn't really anything I haven't seen before". Then I got to the "splitting headache" level, and it moved up a couple of notches in terms of originality.

The graphics are ultra-simplistic (granted, I know that's because of real-world circumstance), but not ugly. The music is good.

It's hard as heck, though. I haven't finished it yet; might return to it later at some point. The main problem is moving back to the start of a (fairly large) world when you die. Also, this is a minor nitpick, but since coins respawn when you die, you end up with loads of coins long after buying all the power-ups.

All in all, a nice retro feel and some cool innovations.

MaxguN says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I like this kind of games (it's the kind I try to make too), simple graphics, hard, fun and addictive. Finished the whole game once with all upgrades but now I wanna try to make a speedrun of it. Will see if I actually do it.

Good job anyway :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Super cool game! Enjoyed the levels, like the concept. Art is not my kind of thing, but it looks good. I always get a couple of coins for just dying, is that on purpose?

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Is it using the "sometimes death is useful" theme instead of "you only get one"?

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I notice an early piece of text is "sometimes death is useful", was that inspired by the theme that was in the votes? :)

Very fun game, I like how failing presents you with little perks.

Music reminds me of Ken's labyrinth for some reason :D

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Thanks for the feedback so far everyone!

The game follows the main theme but the death is useful line was a nod to the other themes. It wasn't a planned thing before the compo but I deliberately make you die on the 2nd scene so that you a) know the black blocks = bad and b) have enough coins to afford dash.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This is really fun and I like the upgrading lots!

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This was way too lag for me to be able to play it correctly. >_<

Still, a nice little platformer! I'm just not sure if the movement was indeed really slow or if some of it was also my computer... xD

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:29am

Not bad. Last level was unfair.

BluMist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:23am

I really liked this game. The only part I didn't care for is the sound of coin collection.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:35am

It's awesome :O Good job!

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I really liked the level design!

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Awesome minimalist game, the audio is awesome as well! great job

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Really fun! The progression makes what could be just a simple platformer into much more. And I like that death may easily be the most useful thing to do. A bit on the easy side, however, particularly since there are so many coins around.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Cheerful, engaging, great difficulty ramp and clear interface. This is an accomplished entry with legs (metaphorically speaking - some actual legs or something on the avatar wouldn't have gone amiss imho ;) Great sound and music too

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Really good game! The game design makes you forget you're playing with a square! Nice touch with the perks, I rather enjoyed it!

taocayo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The controls fail to respond a bit when double tapping too fast. Liked the coin system a lot though it felt overly generous; I got most upgrades early on. the timing for the levels is excellent. Good decision on focusing on gameplay mechanics.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Really Fun Game. I really enjoyed, and I like the art style.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:44am

Haha, theme subverted. I like it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I'm so glad that I played this game! :) Really good platformer, with amazing amount of power ups. The menu was really smooth and user friendly. The only thing that bothered me was that I wish you'd used different jump and coin collecting sounds.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:19pm

really cool idea to integrate one of the other themes "death can be useful" ;)
I like it. especially after I gained all the power ups :P

PaulSB says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Very very good. You packed a lot into this and it was well polished, impressive stuff. Some nice level design tho' certain bits got a bit tiresome having to go back through many times due to a small slip-up.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:58am

Wow! Quite an in-depth game with the upgrade system...

I'm guessing you were hoping for a different theme though? Didn't related much to "you only get one"

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 5:45pm

The human being is closing to the edge of extinction. http://downloadpopu.com The City Secrets guide is designed to clue you in with the most up-to-date information on entertainment, accommodation and travel available.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]