December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Player Pong

by napoleon89 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey everyone, this is my game, One Player Pong.
I found this theme lightly difficult to come up with something interesting based off of it, but I made this simple concept in the end.
If it doesn't open, or just crashes on startup, please comment down below and I should be able to help you!

(In the ZIP open the setup.exe, it should create a start menu shortcut if you want to access it later)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1571Coolness22%

Comments

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Unable to install or run the application. The application requires that assembly Microsoft.Xna.Framework.GamerServices Version 4.0.0.0 be installed in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) first.

Sorry T_T

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I think I have seen something similar before, regardless I like it!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:30am

I think it's too easy to die

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:35am

I am actually surprised by how much I liked this. Very clean, well done. :)

sam1373 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Why does something that simple need an installer?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:51am

Simple and definitely challenging with multiple balls. It would've been nice to see the expected paddle physics.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:04am

Just a heads up, people don't tend to like installing games for Ludum Dares. For an XNA game you can go into your project folder/bin/x86/Debug and take the .exe and content stuff from there and put into a zip so that people can play without installing. Other than that, interesting use of the theme, and pretty fun for a simple game. :)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:07am

Could you upload a version without the installer?

napoleon89 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

guys, the reason it has the installer is because it was made in XNA and requires the XNA framework stuff, sorry :( I'm hopefully going to be using something different next time

noethis says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:45am

Cool idea--wish it would've been a bit faster paced. Didn't want to wait the full 20 sec for a new ball to arrive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]