December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smashy Smashy

by ossah - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Smashy Smashy by Peter McMillan

The aim of the game is to destroy the tower by firing your cannon.
You only get one shot!

There are randomly generated barriers stopping you from hitting the target so it is your job to aim and time your shot.

If you lose, it's back to the menu.
If you win, you get to try build up a new highscore by trying another randomly generated level.

To Run:
Run the executable jar, SmashySmashy.jar. Make sure you have java installed first! :)

Controls:
'W' and 'A' aim the cannon.
'Space' fires your single round.
'R' rage quits back to the menu.

If the ball touches the ground at any point, you have 15 seconds until Game Over so it is still possible to hit the target.

Support:
Tested on Windows but should also work on OSX.
Untested on Linux

Edited: uploaded new jar. Found some bugs! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#173Humor3.14
#241Fun3.27
#245Audio3.00
#347Theme3.15
#379Overall3.16
#626Mood2.58
#892Innovation2.17
#894Graphics2.06

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:45am

One of the best games Ive played this LD, very addicting gameplay, great use of theme and sound. Well done!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07am

Remember me of... ... ..angry birds! :p :p :p

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

Yeah, decided to try keep it simple. My first LD and I wanted to use it to learn libgdx and box2d so went for the simplest gameplay I could think of.

I added really annoying floating barriers of doom though! ;)

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03am

Interesting and fun twist to Angry Birds type of games. Nice music and humorous mood. Thumbs up.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

Good use of LibGDX, like the sound bite - more would have added to the humor. :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08am

Frustrating. Sometimes felt impossible. Fun though.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

Thanks for the comments. Yeah, I wanted to add more sound bites but it was at the end of my too do list. :)

Really enjoyed using libgdx and box2d and look forward to making some more games with them.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

The font is great. Graphics is not so good. But overall it is nice game. Improve graphics and I will play it instead of Angry Birds.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

As the levels are randomly generated, there is a possibility that there might be impossible levels but in general they should be possible to complete.
Wanted to make it difficult to enforce the YOGO theme.

Also on my todo list was powering of the shot, which I never go around to implementing. I think that would have helped with some of the more difficult arrangements.
Thanks :)

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14am

Very simple graphics, but quite effective. Nice work!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15am

@alcorrius
Thanks for the comments. Yeah the graphics aren't at much. They were last minute additions and due to the way I set the game camera and drew the sprites, they had to be low res.

Will have to find an artist for version 0.0.2! :)

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Played this for way longer than I expected to.

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Woohoo, I got FOUR! Only took a million tries! Btw, for a game this mean, a couple of different, randomly played failure messages would be cool. You just hear them so much. :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Angry cannons? what else could I ask for!
I really dig the mood. And the gameplay is pretty addicting, too.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

You get humor points from me for "Thou hast faaaaiiiilllleeeed!"

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

The concept is fun, but randomizing the level would be very dangerous if it was for a game on real market.

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33pm

This absolutely the best game I've played so far! Nice graphics and sound and very coherent feel overall. Good job!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@Jago
Thanks for the great comment! Delighted you enjoyed it.
@joserodolfofreitas
I agree. I ended up dumbing down the random level generation.
Might be fun with more structured levels.

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25am

Man, this is one of these games that make me want to yell at my monitor in the best way.

Freaking blocks! This sucks! ... Okay, one more time. :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:48am

It's fun but I can't pass the first level U_U

ossah says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:53pm

@glovecat
All the levels are randomly generated. I wanted to add a degree of longevity and variance without having to spend too much time on level design.

As it turned out, it might have been quicker to spend time on 5 or 6 levels of increasing difficulty and would have guaranteed that no impossible levels would be generated.

@302_Dave
Lol. Thanks. The best kind of compliment!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57am

Placing the obstacles randomly isn't a good choice, as the difficulty varies a lot and some levels are probably impossible (large, fast obstacle directly in front of the cannon). With proper level design it could have been a fun game!

ossah says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:53pm

@cappelnord
Thanks for the feedback.
Yeah, I agree. I do like the randomness to some extent but it would definitively benefit from some clever level design.
I am currently thinking of taking the game further and adding more structured levels and design.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:01am

I failed miserably too many times :(.

Great game, very funny! However, it would be better if the difficulty of the game increased with every stage.

48h game, great job! I liked the texts, audio and fonts. Graphics were simple but acceptable. :)

shatley123 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:06am

Good game. The music was fantastic.

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Works great on Linux. Nice job, it's great to see physics games on LD48. I like the audio too. The obstacles are too random. Hitting the tower was mostly a matter of waiting until I got lucky with the obstacles. I only got to see one tower shape, having more towers would have been great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]