December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monorail

by AaronGordon - Jam Entry

Ride along the rail and crash through the "1"s as you try to avoid the rest!

Pass the other numbers on the opposite side to subtract one from them. Crash through enough "1"s to proceed to the next level.

To play the game:

Download the zip file using the link provided. Extract the files from the zip download and double click "launch".

Please note that the latest version of Java is required to play Monorail.

A game by
Aaron Gordon
Oliver Knott
lilafisch
Alistair Lynn

Special thanks to Sam Phippen

Music by
Moleman - http://www.youtube.com/user/moleman183

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#33Overall(Jam)3.87
#35Theme(Jam)3.74
#46Fun(Jam)3.67
#54Audio(Jam)3.71
#62Innovation(Jam)3.50
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#160Graphics(Jam)3.69
#409Humor(Jam)1.79

Comments

incobalt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

A simple concept, but actually quite fun. Closing out of the main window (in Windows) is strange and just opens a new instance of the game using the batch file (just had to close the cmd.exe to get out).

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Very nice graphics! :D

asimilon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21am

launch command script didn't work for me in OSX Lion, but just copy/pasted the code into terminal and it worked, nice game!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

Well done!

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

Really nice, love it! The soundtrack is fantastic, too.

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Super relaxing and zen-like... really cool! Surprisingly challenging when going around curves. Could be the next super hexagon with polish tbh!!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

wow that was very cool! i like the minimalistic graphics, and the theme is relevant in this one. good job!

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

very nice simlpe concept and great delivery and polish!

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Really fantastic. Simple concept, and nicely polished. Really digging the atmosphere with the audio, music and graphics.

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

The graphics didn't line up for me. The line was not at the midway point between the numbers which made it difficult to judge which side I was on. Ubuntu 12.04, using java-7-oracle jre

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Just a side note, the game kept relaunching for me until I closed the console. Intended or unintended.
The concept is great, the game is interesting, as well as a bit addictive.
It wasn't clear to the players that the numbers would count down if they weren't hit by the players.
The switching at times seemed a bit wonky and the player might hit the number while switching, but nothing too game-breakingly unpredictable.
Overall, the game looks good, sounds good, and plays well!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Beautiful and relaxing. I wish I could accelerate on lower level. When you replay it for 5-6th time they start to be boring.

If you want to keep one button maybe try to accelerate on hold click. The problem would be you can't swap on release, but having to release to click again can be a problem especially if you're fast.

Or maybe : The speed always increase and it decreases on swap. So you can try to go full throttle by just making making necessary swaps, or brake hard by double or triple swap.

Anyways congrats for the great intro, your song is still playing while I'm writing it's so good.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:45pm

nice looking and pretty relaxing game

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:45pm

This was actually a lot harder than I thought it would be, I liked it. Maybe a little more randomization of the tracks would be cool, but other than that, nice execution. :D

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Good job, graphics are simple but looks cool :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Not working on win8 :/ But the screens are looking nice :)

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

A very nice game, the visuals are excellent, the game is fun and challenging. The music is good, the sound effects are maybe a bit simplistic, but they serve their purpose. The game looks great, it plays smoothly and is just pleasing in general.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Love the extremely literal take on the theme. :) Simple, but fun and addictive. Nice work.

J says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

There are some great concepts in here. I love the idea of a nonlinear, potentially self-crossing track, and the way numbers decrease, changing the path you have to take on successive laps.

The only thing I dislike is how slowly the speed increases. A higher difficulty setting would be very nice.

Also, don't use Zip for the Linux version, because it doesn't preserve permissions - the script needs to be executable (and a #! line would be nice).

Espyo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15am

It doesn't seem to clear the screen after every frame here. This causes the game to bleed out, and after some seconds, a lot of the screen is white, which makes it hard to see! I'm using Windows 7, 64-bit. It must have something to do with these errors the console reports:

(...)\one\monorail\ld28-gdx-desktop>"C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\java" -cp "..\ld28-gdx\libs\bloom.jar;..\ld28-gdx-desktop\bin;..\ld28-gdx-desktop\libs\gdx-backend-lwjgl.jar;..\ld28-gdx-desktop\libs\gdx-backend-lwjgl-natives.jar;..\ld28-gdx-desktop\libs\gdx-natives.jar;..\ld28-gdx\bin;..\ld28-gdx\libs\gdx.jar" uk.co.alynn.one.Main
The system cannot find the path specified.

...My Java isn't installed on Program Files (x86), I chose a custom path to install my Java to. Oh well, looks nice, and I wanted to give it a try, to see how challenging the later levels would become, but...

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24am

Simple concept! Nicely executed! Good game!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice visuals and mood. The gameplay is a little too minimalistic if you ask me, but it works well and seems very polished.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:46am

Well done!
Idea with theme is awesome!
Simple and cool, yeah =)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:48am

MAN, that soundtrack was amazing! It made playing the game a lot of fun! And awesome use of the theme, the concept is very cool.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:12am

Really awesome! Definitely develop this one further :D

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

I like the clean minimal look of the graphics, and I think the difficulty was escalated appropriately. The music really fit, however it doesn't sound like it was made during the time limit specifically for this game?

GFM says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:36am

Really simple game.
But nothing stood out for me... :(

It's nice the you tried to make seamless levels, but switching from between them had no animation and was too abrupt. Also, if only (notable) differences were the color and the numbers positions... There's no increase on the speed, no new challenges... this made the game somewhat boring after a while...

Perhaps I didn't play far enough and it would get faster and more challenging - I did stop after 4 or 5 swaps. But those are my only complaints.

Nonetheless, good job!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Loving the clean cut visuals.

Jan 21, 2014 @ 7:27am

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOHbriI6wnc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]