December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Limb

by vapgames - Jam Entry

Vasily Korolev is a space engineer.
One day he was assigned to fix a terraforming station, but his teleportation didn't go so well.

Strongly recommend playing with gamepad.
Grab and Hold: A (gamepad) or X (keyboard).

Tools used:
Unity free
Toolkit2d
Anim2d (my animation editor)
My rope system
My content auto processing thing
Paint Tool Sai
Photoshop
Telegrama font (from here: http://www.fontgopher.com/search.html?q=telegrama)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation(Jam)4.25
Theme(Jam)4.46
#14Humor(Jam)3.94
#21Overall(Jam)3.96
#31Fun(Jam)3.80
#37Graphics(Jam)4.35
#124Mood(Jam)3.36
#462Audio(Jam)1.61

Comments

Six Down says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Best triplegiac physics platformer ever!

Seriously though, great work. Simple but very fun, levels imaginative and well thought out.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

Hmm, I can't seem to play with keyboard?

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

Six Down, thank you!
MrBlade, are you using OSX?

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

GREAT!!!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

Great take on the theme, nice graphics.

x70x says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice take on the theme, and great visuals!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

Thank you for web! Idea is cool but gameplay is too hard! And graphics is cool too)

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

Amazing. Hard to play on the keyboard, but I struggled through it just to keep playing. Great take on the theme.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:55am

Next gen qwop, love it.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

wow this was super very fun! but i stopped after the place on the screenshot after dying 4 times and doing the level all over again. good job!

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00am

That was great, I especially enjoyed the conveyor-belt part. However, I also failed to get past that part after riding around it a dozen times, because the game is currently very tricky even with a gamepad! With some tweaks to the controls (or just some more practice on my part) I see much potential here.

(It reminds me in some ways of the game "You Have No Legs", but with a lot less repetitive clicking, plus cool ropes).

funselektor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

This fits the theme so perfectly! The movement reminded me of Incredipede, it was fun trying to figure out how to move.

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13am

Nice game :)
I liked the graphic.
The game is quite simple to understad, but
it's realy hard to controll, I got stuck many times.
The idea is cool, but I think that the levels should start more easily, before you master the walk.

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Is this Gordon Freeman ? I laughed playing your game!
5 stars for innovation,humor, fun & mood.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15pm

WFT! One hand better that nothing...

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very interesting idea, only one limb, but it was quite frustrating after a while. Good graphics also.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Exceptional use of theme and physics (especially ropes), with stunning art direction - full marks, fantastic!

taaboo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Realy fun to play :) Didn't think somone would take the you got only one theme to this extreme :P Graphics are cool aswel! +1

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Reminds me of 'You have no legs' but with gorgeous artwork. Really nice work! Rated highly. :)

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Damn! challenging gameplay but very fun physics platformer. Nice soft-painted environments, really rewarding moments when successfully leap through the obstacles and hazards. Now I'm convinced to look further in Unity3D's 2Dtoolkit (the ropes, and limb-rig physics and all).. Hopefully on sequel or further builds if you would somehow incorporate different characters with its own unique take on their limbs or a co-op gameplay (2 or more players) solve complex platform puzzles..

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Wow, that was hilarious and fun. Great Job!!!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

You have some really nice art in here! Your take on the theme is funny and really challenging, in that clumsy QWOP sort of way, yet the result is even more interesting. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

The game is very funny. Though I feel bad about that guy :(

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:21pm

HHAHAHA hilarious !!! love it really, very very fun game :) Fun&Nasty !

Kuupu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Awesome game! i dont know if i'm doing something worng but o have no sound on web player >.<

Anyway, the game is REALLY great, if it isnt finished yet, you really should finish it and publish somewhere!

The gameplay is great, but you can spend some more time on level design ;) (that first hole where you can die is really hard D=)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

This is amazing, wish it had sound though.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Very nice graphics and I love the game idea. But I found the controls rather frustrating.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Ragdoll physics are always hilarious, this is a nice way to combine them with proper gameplay.

udo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:20pm

That was great fun, thanks for making this!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Wow, really good game! Fits the theme really well. Like many others, I got stuck in the screen schot level, and retried several times after I fell down. But eventually I gave up since it costs some much efort to move with just one limb. ;)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17am

Other player here, most freaked out I've ever been in a game when I realized what those white ropes in level 3 were xD
After level 3 I got a text screen, from which it wasn't completely clear to me that the game was over. "Warning:null" seems like something went wrong, but maybe it's on purpose?
Anyway, excellent game in every way (except of course non-existent audio ;) )

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:36am

wow wow wow! i love the graphic style. i love the fun of it, even though it is super hard. i think it would be really helpful to have some instructions for how to effectively use the keyboard keys to move the guy. overall so awesome mood, humor, and innovative game play. and you nailed the theme

Blooperly says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:32am

Difficult to control... But incredibly hilarious because of it! Less limbs = more fun

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:06am

Brilliantly done. If this game had sound effects or music, it would be even better, but as is, it's hilarious and awesome.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:26am

Not bad. Very fun and humorous idea.
Stuck on 2-d level. Engine lags as hell. Remembering it by Inrusion2 =)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:46am

Best, and most entertaining, control scheme I've ever used. Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:07am

Awesome, awesome visuals and physics. GREAT use of theme and very fun gameplay (with gamepad, not with keyboard... haha). It's tough but it really makes you feel for the guy. I'M SO HAPPY I HAVE ALL MY LIMBS. THANK YOU FOR THE REMINDER!

One of the best looking / playing games I've seen thus far. Easily.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:58am

holy shit the way you move is so disturbing, woow

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:28am

CRAZY humor an VERY GOOD graphics. Congratulations

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:03am

I can understand the choice of the control but they makes the game ridiculously difficult and spoil the fun I had, I guess by the other comments that I'm the only one having problems with my fingers.
To be more precise, it's globally working well most of the time, but to jump on a higher platform or over a switch, if you are not at the right distance or failing the control sequence a bit it could become a very difficult jump.

The whole drawn background is beautiful, and the global mood is great.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Super hard, but holy shit such a good idea.

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice job on hooking up the physics and getting the one-armed guy to be moveable. Nice graphics too. Cool little game

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:21am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u0Up-lf4qzs
Genius! My first impressions on the game :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I love that he resembles Gordon Freeman. :D Graphics are wonderful and love the rope physics . The bit with the spinning rope is a little too tough. I gave up at that point after 30 or so attempts. Works well with gamepad, was fun manipulating the arm with the D pad haha - am using an Xbox controller on win 7.

gre says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:41pm

This IS just AWESOME!!!

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Really cool game. Nice graphics. The idea was great but it's too hard to control.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This took a bit to get the hang of initially, but the controls really started to grow on me over time. I think it would be beneficial to have checkpoints throughout the level, as it was really easy to screw things up accidentally, but other than that this was a lot of fun. Great work!

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

that physics is srs bsns!... reminds me of incredipede, but waay tougher! add some sound to the mix, and this is a winner!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I think this idea is hilarious and the graphics are great. I had a hell of a time getting anywhere though. The 'x' key doesn't seem to do anything on my mac. ctrl kind of holds onto the floor, maybe, but if I press ctrl-left then it switches desktops. I was able to make it a bit down the way to the right, but a rope blocked my progress. Am I missing something?

Knighty says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:35am

Pretty graphics and fun use of theme. Restarting the second level if you fall in the lava was a bit frustrating, I feel like that level should have been split into two levels.
Unfortunately, in level 3 I got stuck in a place I couldn't die, so I had to restart from the beginning of the game.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:20am

Too bad there is no linux build :(

lotusgame says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Incredible game ! The best theme interpretation i've seen so far ! Some five stars here ! Controls are difficult to understand at the very beginning but this game is a pure gem :) Congrats !!

Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Love the arm physics! XD

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wonderful graphics and great take on the theme. Not the world's easiest character to control but with some practice...

GFM says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Definitely something promising!
It was enjoyable to play... but way too hard on a keyboard. I wasn't able to successfully jump from rope to rope on the beginning of the second stage.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Very solid polished game!

raarlac says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:26am

Awesome graphics and mechanics. Very complete game. Some more features, levels and sound and I would buy it on Steam.
Level 2 should have a checkpoint, because restarting from the beginning because you fell in the sand after passing through the rope thing is a pain in the ass. And it's insanely hard for a level 2.
Also, this should be gamepad only.

Madball says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Interesting idea, very fun to play. I see a lot of potential in level design, though I guess it could get repetivie with time. And it needs a restart button.

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:43am

Great game! I like the awesome graphics and the interesting and enjoyable gameplay. It takes a while to figure out how to control the character, but sadly afterwards it's still hard to control. I think with audio this would be a possible winner.

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice game! I want to play only with one limb to get closer to that person :)

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

One of the most frustrating at the same time and fun games i ever played. Don't know if I should love or hate you for this. After I managed to get past the rope-elevator in the second room after 1000 tries i ended up in the next gap and had to start in the beginning of the room. Maybe I'll give it later another try, for now I need to calm down a bit, before I smash my keyboard a second time ;)

Anyways, unbelievable good entry. Even without sound.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]