December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get Won

by ChrisMingay - Jam Entry

The life of a stuffed toy prize results in one outcome...

You Only Get Won

Help a couple of best friend bats avoid getting separated by sabotaging peoples attempts to win them as prizes.

I do intend on releasing an Android version of it to, I'll post any updates at chrismingay.co.uk

Ta!
-Chris

EDIT 17/12/2013 - Added Windows Build I THINK it required openal to be installed (bundled in the zip download)

EDIT 22/12/2013 - Android Version added

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Humor(Jam)3.67
#53Theme(Jam)3.62
#63Mood(Jam)3.60
#69Audio(Jam)3.61
#89Fun(Jam)3.41
#124Overall(Jam)3.44
#175Innovation(Jam)3.13
#202Graphics(Jam)3.45

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Awesome! I saw also the doge on somebody's shirt...
such graphics
super fun
many emotion
much theme

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very fun concept. I love the outtro :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thank you for trying it :D

I'm hearing that the ring toss level is too difficult, so I might tone it down a bit later on.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I love it :D the graphics were great and the theme amazing :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Hey thanks :D

For anyone who tried it and thought the ring toss level was too difficult I've made it slightly easier.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

great. one of the best yet, love the ideas.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Both funny and sad. Brilliant idea.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Great stuff. Was all ready to say that you'd made a spelling mistake ... glad to see that wasn't the case ;)

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Fantastic job! Awesome audio and visuals combined with great gameplay and story.

madameberry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Man, I lost on the LAST ring. Poor babies got separated. My heart. She is broken.

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

good story))

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

A nice mix of the funny and the melancholic, interesting and punny take on the theme, and the audiovisuals are pretty cute. Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Such Fun.
Wow.
Much like.
Some skill.
WOW! :D

Dohan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Very nice game. The last part of each minigame was pretty hard, though.

Jan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Awesome game. Couldn't stop playing.

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I'm overwhelmed with glee here :D this was thrilling and fun!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Hah, nice twist on the theme. Gameplay is fun and graphics are charming.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Haha! Nice game it really makes a lot of fun to play. Cool idea to make them loose :P

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Enjoyable mini games. Lot of effort went into making up the story and all the little details. Music was very good too! Awesome job :D

danbo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Really cute game. I seem to remember the first stage music from something, though.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Very cute, loved the story.
Hitting R on the second level seems to skip all the people though, and I get put through to level three.
Nice job, though (:

afterisk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Funny and cool, nice responsive controls and quirky gfx. GJ!!!!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Thanks everyone, I'm really glad to see people are enjoying it :)

Zkenshin : Oops... that'd be me forgetting to remove some test code! :S

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41am

Nice graphics, nice story and nice music :D

juaxix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:51am

Hey, try the windows version please (ld28jam_windows dir inside):
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31663
thanks for playing

Fenixin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Nice work. Really nice game. Lovely music, art and concept. Very nice theme.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

What a great concept (love the backstory)! The music is really fab too. I felt bad when I lost. :c

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08pm

That was great. A lot of content, variation, sound and polish.

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41am

I like this game a lot. It's like wario ware with a back story. But it is quite hard.
The story is very nice and heartwarming.
The graphics are awesome, the music is adorable. Also the sounds are great.
Great job, it was really fun to play.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:53am

great won! XD amazing soundtrack and overall feel

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Awwh! Amazing game, and best use of theme I've seen! It took me a bit longer than it should have to figure out exactly what I was meant to be doing and when (on day 3 mainly) but I got through. Heartfelt! And lol at that guy with the ultra squished head, hah. I had to award you all 4-5/5's, and it's very rare that someone gets a 5/5 on anything from me, or that someone gets something in both 'mood' and 'humour'. Great job!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Well done, day 3 took me a while to complete. I really liked the story.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:06pm

One of the best entries so far! Keep up the good work :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:11pm

The concept is so cut! :D I like it!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:36am

I like the music. Real sadness ensues when you lose :(

ovenchips says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice entry. I kept failing on the strength test level so an immediate retry key would be good. Once you've read the game over screen, you don't read it again and you have to wait for the fade in/out. Music was really good! Well done. :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:34am

Much fun :P Great little game, it's funny and cute, made me smile :)

Fenmar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I love your game! I really wanted the bats to succeed and stay together ^^" The story is superb and heartbreaking if you lose.

Balancing was okay, I failed the second and third day once each, so I would not say it was too difficult.

The scrolling speed of the credits is a bit too slow for my taste

Novodantis says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:50am

It's taken me far too long to get around to playing this, but I'm glad I did! I love the chirpy, upbeat feel and the music reminds me of the Megadrive/Genesis synth chip in the best possible way. Brilliant reversal of the idea of winning a prize, that also fits the theme with a pun to boot. Difficulty ramps up nicely, also.

If I was to add anything, it would be a selection to be Jaden or John. It wouldn't do anything, but you could claim DOUBLE the playable characters =P

Myyyvothrr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really cool game, I especially liked the music!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]