December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Azimuth Zero

by Joror - 48 Hour Compo Entry

======================================================

Welcome Special Envoy!

Preliminary scans have detected a potential Virr presence in
the Malroute system. We are shutting down all Trans Warp
Gates at this very moment - severing all links to the system for
years to come. As you probably have guessed, we have a
challenging mission for you again!

You only get one ship though.

======================================================

Known issues:

* Clicking 'Cut flow' to sever flows doesn't seem to work at times (clicking a lot helps at times)
* Multiple dialogs on top of eachother become unreadable

----

Tips & Tricks:

* Click on the 'Help' button for UI/usage info!
* Start 'attacking' closer planets, they are conquered faster
* You can conquer moons too! They have less population so easier to get diplomatically
* Start a new transfer after you conquer something, to funnel resources to one planet



HELP messages as available from inside the game:
--------------------

Lets keep this short. Because it will be.

You control all areas in circled in green. You have four resources.
Diplomacy converts neutral planets to your cause.
Military defeats other military and then conquers their planets.
Science lets you scan other planets for information.
Goods feed your population, other uses are [REDACTED].

--------------------

You use your resources against others by clicking on one or
more of the resource buttons in the top right, and then dragging
from one of your locations to another location you don't control.
You can remove ongoing transfers by using 'Cut flow' and then
clicking on the transfer.

You can transfer resources between your locations in the same
way.

--------------------

The Virr have infiltrated this system and are hiding in the
population of one of the planets, taking over host entities.
They will make themselves known soon enough.
Virr do not use much tact, they rush, and then land one
infected on your planet. That is enough. Keep your military
high!

Virr controlled planets are in Purple.

--------------------

You can click on planets to follow them. Hold the mouse button
to look around. The scrollwheel controls zoom.
Keyboard shortcuts:
Space = Pause
'-' = slower time
'+' = faster time
Tab = Browse through planets

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#248Innovation3.28
#317Graphics3.28
#351Mood2.97
#478Overall3.03
#486Audio2.55
#597Humor2.00
#711Fun2.54
#827Theme2.26

Comments

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Reminds me of some good 4X space games. Nice work!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I am not exactly sure how to play hehe... but the concept is quite interesting! :p I have to give it another go! :D

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I liked the gameplay, but the UI was too confusing. Near the end I got about 5 different messages on top of each other and I couldn't read what any of them said. Also, I couldn't figure out how to break resource connections.

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Hey, nice concept. You really should post infos about the UI though, it really took me time to figure things out.

Joror says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20pm

@Raphy - Aye I should, I included a 'help' button in the top right, did that info help?

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51am

Although I don't know how to play, I should say it's really cool stuff.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:10am

Addictive!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

A little bit confusing, but quite interesting.

henrykun says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50pm

It looks like you worked hard. Interesting approach and well thought game. Good job!.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The controls felt a little imprecise at times - maybe some visual feedback when you mouse-over things would be nice. On the plus side - this is a very detailed strategy game! There's a lot of depth in there for a 48hr game (although you may want to force people through the Help text on first playthrough, because without it you'll be very confused.) Nice one!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I see a lot of good work here... A nice but complicated game!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56pm

A bit confusing but interesting none the less, good entry.

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:05pm

And all of this was made in 48h? Phew. Super complex mechanics implemented for that short amount of time. Cool stuff. Only "complain": As some others mentioned as well, the UI is a bit confusing.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:15pm

That was pretty impressive! I got the concept fairly quickly and I like the simplicity of it (despite it looking fairly complex). I'm amazed how someone can make a sim game in a 48 hour jam!

Norgg says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Okay, wow. Impressively large scale game to get done in 48 hours. I like how the solar system is randomly generated, but you don't make a big deal about it.

I lost my first game, won my second game by just claiming as many planets as I could as quickly as I could on the slowest setting.

Then my third game seems to have got stuck like so: http://i.imgur.com/7oXBh09.png . I've got a bunch of planets sending military and various other resources to the only Virr planet, but nothing seems to be happening, the Virr don't seem to be expanding either.

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:10pm

@Norgg Awesome to hear someone played it to completion! :) Game balance with the Virr and the player was indeed the bit that got the least attention as I rushed the game. Quite dependent on the type of galaxy generated, planet the Virr started on, etc.

The bug in your last game is new for me. Might have something to do with the game considering the planet both Virr and controlled, and not letting either do things with it.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Amazing game ! Congratulations !

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Utterly confusing at the start, and that's a load of features for a short time! Very well made!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:41pm

4X games fascinate me, this is a really nice implementation with some nice interlocking systems (game, and planetary). I read the text quite closely but still struggled to make huge headway though. Perhaps a more effective tutorial would be to get the player to perform the first few actions to order?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Seems solid, but it's still unclear how everything works.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:20am

I definitely like the visuals and animations. Even though there are help pages, I felt like I was being thrown in on the deep end at the beginning. It would have been nice if each element (diplomacy/military/science/goods) was gradually introduced into the game instead of all at once.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Wasnt sure exactly how this game works but I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

Jod says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:29am

Still impressed with how much mechanics you got in there!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I also got the bug with one Virr planet that is/was already controlled and not doing anything. Converted the whole galaxy otherwise. I think food needs balancing as it doesn't seem at all useful and max pop just gets reached and then food doesn't help. Since the pop doesnt affect production, I don't see any use or it. Or the redacted use needs explaining; I didn't find it at all. Planets are really hard to click on when zoomed way out so its hard to send flows across the galaxy. Music got a little annoying after a while. Altogether though, nice concept and fun game!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Very innovative but way too complicated. I read all the instructions and played for about 20 minutes but I'm still not sure I understand all the aspects of gameplay.

Nothing besides military conquest seemed to do anything, and I had to do that nonstop to keep up with those annoying virr.

I think there's more to this game than I can fathom, and I'm very impressed that you finished it in 48 hours! The pictures of the alien races was a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]