December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Destructoblast

by Doctor Broccoli - Jam Entry

EDIT 2: Alright, it should be fixed now. Enjoy!

EDIT: It looks like the game isn't working at the moment. Please have patience until I fix this.

Destructoblast is an arcade-style game where you have to defeat enemies to score points (what a novel concept.) See how long you can last against the endless hordes of enemies!

Earlier I submitted a version of this that was incomplete and buggy as all hell. I only did that because I was so tired that I damn near fainted. This version should be all fixed and complete. Enjoy!

P.S: There is an easter egg in here. See if you can find it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#67Fun(Jam)3.54
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#160Mood(Jam)3.25
#205Humor(Jam)2.58
#227Innovation(Jam)2.97
#330Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Woah, this is amazing!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

No audio, no audio rating.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Failed to run it on windows 8.. It opens for a bit and closes immediately..

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Lol you can break the arena and use holes as traps. Need some sounds though

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

it just crashes for me :( i really wanted to play this to, it looks awesome

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Failed to run on Windows 8

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

On windows 7 it opens, shows a white screen, and then closes.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Failed to run on Windows 7 - game opens and immediately closes.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Bugger D: It crashes on start.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Downloaded, but couldn't run... :( It seems like it's writing a file for a brief moment but then crashes suddenly.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Sorry about all the crashes everyone! There was a major bug, but it's all fixed now.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

The graphics are really impressive. Too bad there is no music, it ruin everything.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Really like that the only floor is destroyed as you fight but would have preferred if falling killed you. As it is now so many health power ups are dropped I feel like I could last forever since nothing hurts too much. Good weapon variety, that plasma hose thing had a wicked effect.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Good job! Really enjoyed it. Sounds would have made it more awesome. :)

ahm99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Score: 24200

Really awesome game, the lack of audio is unfortunate, but the rest of the game makes up for it. Very fun also. Good job :)

Kotucz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Good game and idea! The controls are little unintuitive. I usually shot downwards, which is unusual. The holes could be better visible :-D

kingtim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

Found the easter egg :)

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Pretty great game with really good graphics. Only thing that could use improvements would be the camera, as it is always forced to look ahead of you, although it would be way more useful if you could lock it behind you (because most likely you will run away and shoot behind you)

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Really nice, but the tutorial's a bit long.

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56pm

This is a good fun game, but no audio is a downside.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Nice! I really dig games where you can hold to fire and get upgrades changing the weapon, just a shame it doesn't have any music :c

darwinpek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

The camera was probably the worst thing about this game. Maybe instead of having the camera look at the edges, it would have been better if the camera was pointed toward the center of the arena instead, if that makes any sense.

On another note, I'm running windows 8.1 and I could run it just fine.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20pm

I found the Easter egg. My new mission is to defeat all of them.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

86,000 points is when I realized that there is no cap on grenade firing speed. So I basically destroyed the arena in only 15 seconds. With more time playing this game, I've realized that once you are fully upgraded, it isn't much of a challenge. I think that the "Easter egg level" is actually very challenging. I think spawn rate should increase more over time, because it is possible to stay alive basically forever.

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

SERIOUSLY?! (Oh my, I laughed really hard on that one)
Awesome game =)
The grenades seem to be bugged a bit - the arena is only damaged by them, if they fall through a hole... but if they land on solid ground, they don't damage the arena.. at least not visibly. (Win7 x64)

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Great graphics. You got a lot out of simple shapes!

Lyje says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:13am

Very fun, love the graphics. Camera is a bit frustrating (would strongly prefer static or at least one that only rotates on command) and I'm not sure the destruction of the arena adds anything to the gameplay other than annoyance since it's only a minor inconvenience. But overall great!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Wow, really liked that one. Destructible floor was a surprise for me!

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice game, but as others have said the camera is annoying... I started having a headache after a few minutes of playing.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:46am

Pretty fun! It gets really easy once you get a few power-ups, though.

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I was able to run it on Win 8.1, but shame for no audio :(

chameco says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Very impressive graphics, although support for other platforms would be nice. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]