December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Labyrinth of Keys

by Martze - Jam Entry

UPDATE (2014/01/02): The game is finished and released! Check it out here! http://mattarod.com/labyrinth-of-keys/

If you are rating the game, play the Jam version. Otherwise, play the finished version, as it is a LOT better.

---

This game was very ambitious, and we came very close, but it fell apart in the final stages. We just didn't have enough time to put it all together.

There's a central riddle to the game that you're supposed to solve, and it's supposed to be different every time you play the game, but unfortunately we ran out of time and didn't make the puzzle actually work.

If you'd like to look around the game and try using your key on a random door, have fun.

Credits:
Matthew Rodriguez
ZeroTron
Adan Ferguson ( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/category/ld-24/?author_name=khananaphone )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#225Theme(Jam)2.88
#232Audio(Jam)3.00
#263Mood(Jam)2.89
#280Humor(Jam)2.31
#319Graphics(Jam)3.04
#326Fun(Jam)2.71
#347Innovation(Jam)2.64
#374Overall(Jam)2.83

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58am

The game immediately dies when I try to start it.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

It closes when running for me too. I tried opening it in command and I get the error:

Uncaught exception - load.c<237> : Failed to load library : std.ndll

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Same here, can't start the game i-i

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

The game fails to start :(

Martze says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:37pm

The game should at least load now.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Guys, this is a really good idea, I hope you can finish it!

xerysherry says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:54am

Link is broken!? I can't download...

Moosefly says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Yeah, link does seem to be broken.

Martze says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:21am

Sorry, I've been messing around with my website the past few days. I fixed the link. Thanks for letting me know.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:17am

I'm still getting a 404 error trying to download the game.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:29am

Woaaa I love the game title is in Japanese and the graphics are epic! But what I loved the most is the music theme...I love this game good work :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:41am

For some reason the game always starts so high in my screen that I can't grab the top bar and move it around. Otherwise, though, this is an interesting entry - clearly a large and expansive game world, but it's not at all clear what I as a player should be doing once I lose the starting key.

Grafter says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice Graphics on title! Interesting game! Well done!

Moosefly says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:43pm

It's a shame that you couldn't complete the Jam version. Good job nonetheless.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Once you use the key on the wrong door you die?????????

GarethIW says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Well, aesthetics wise this game looks awesome, has a lovely Japanese retro vibe going for it. The music is well done too. It's a shame there's not much to do but explore in the Jam version, but nevertheless it's a solid start.

sadiquo says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:51am

I not find the good door :(

Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:36am

Cool game, though a bit too unforgiving. That restart and using key is with the same key-code is a bit problematic.

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I just love the graphics, they remind me of old DOS games, and Im saying that in the best way you can think of! Just I cant understand, why K... its so far away from the arrows or the X...
Anywho, really nice game! Good job. :)

rosa89n20 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:51pm

every time when I trigger something to lost my key, I feel lot of trolling lol! but is fun. is just like some crazy nuts hard Mario hacks and AVGN the game that kind of trolling and fun :D

Martze says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

@Tanser: Since using your key at the wrong time can cause you to lose the game, I deliberately put it as far away as possible. You can rebind inputs in v1.0 (Windows) anyway.

@oskardevelopment: Since using a key on a door is very context-dependent, it didn't seem like a major problem at the time. Nonetheless, I changed the warp button to W in the final release, and version 1.0 (Windows) lets you rebind inputs.

@Jezzamon: You don't die, exactly, but the game becomes unwinnable, forcing you to restart.

@JaymeeMak: No idea why that's happening, but on Windows you can press Winkey+Left or Right to bring it within reach. It'll make the window the wrong size, but at least you can grab it now. This

Novodantis says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I like the 8 bit feel to it all and the one key mechanic is done well except for one point that confuses me: the K key becomes a warp back after you've used your key. At that point you need to restart anyway as the labyrinth becomes unwinnable (if I'm understanding it correctly), so would it not make sense that k would reset the level too?

Martze says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:25pm

@Novodantis: If you use your key on a door, it's lost and you must restart the game. If you lose your key to a flying lock enemy, you can warp back to the start and reclaim the key. This issue was resolved in the 1.0 release, in which K is ONLY used for opening doors, W warps back to the start at all times (even if you have the key), and R resets the game entirely.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

That was pretty cool, Darn flying locks stealin' mah keys. I'm going to have to beat this later now though because it's like the flying locks have won. It's nice that 1.0 has a reset mechanic, I was playing 0.5 and having to re-launch the executable every time I picked the wrong door was less than enjoyable.

Martze says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:12pm

@epb9000: 0.5 is bad, rate it accordingly. Given that there's more than 10 doors, the door is randomly selected each time, and **there's no way to actually figure out which door is the right door**, actually trying to beat 0.5 is an exercise in futility.

myachin says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:50am

great! but quite hard

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]