December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Perfect Christmas

by agmcleod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For the compo, I wanted to start on an interactive sort of christmas card for my family. I built my brother's part as he will be driving out here from many hours away. The idea is to navigate the traffic, and try to make it in the time limit. Fairly straight forward and easy game, but was nice to get started. Cheers, and happy holidays.

Note that some things won't work in IE 11, mainly with pointer events. It's currently a bug in the engine I am using. I recommend Chrome or Firefox instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#908Graphics2.00
#963Fun1.94
#977Theme1.75
#993Innovation1.60
#999Overall1.94
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I kinda sorta drove in the exact middle of the road, and never had to move. Might want to make the cars on the left potentially spawn a bit more to the right.

Still, happy holidays. :)

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57pm

It was fairly good little driving game, but the car felt too "stiff" to control, and I wondered why everyone was going so much slower than me? Am I that jerk going 85 in a 75mph zone? :/

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

The idea and sentiment are great, Not sure how it comes into the theme - But hey you got a finished product out in 48 hours :)
As someone mentions, the fact that you can sit in the middle lane all the way is perhaps a gameplay issue, try forcing some action out of the player next time ;)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Drives in the middle.. Ah well you did great, some AI improvements would include making them try and over take each other and the speed my god someone will die going that fast, If you were getting the speed output of the animation or something make it slower or try / the speed or * the speed it might work out to be something good. Ah well nice try. An good music too.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

As said before, would be good if cars overtake others so you don't always have to stay in the middle

Very good music :)

agmcleod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Yeah the drive & the challenge of the game is definitely something I want to improve. Well i have a week and a half still :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:08am

Nice idea, good work :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:33am

The game is out of theme.... Also when you move your car to the middle line, there is no collisions!

However good job! This game make me feel "SpeedCar"!

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Controls and difficulty could use some work. It was really easy when staying in the middle. I liked that you made a game for your brother :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]