December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Heart

by WiseGAMER - Jam Entry

A game about following the thing that all of us can trust : Our Heart. A journey following a heart through puzzles trying to achieve the goal that all of us seek. Relax and enjoy this unique experience. Use arrow keys only to control.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#124Mood(Jam)3.36
#191Audio(Jam)3.11
#262Overall(Jam)3.11
#313Theme(Jam)2.64
#353Humor(Jam)2.04
#384Fun(Jam)2.55
#430Innovation(Jam)2.37
#463Graphics(Jam)2.42

Comments

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

Interesting game, nice job. At some point, all of the collider boundaries on the game objects were all visible, intentional?

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17am

It was a debug problem, we fixed it as soon as we saw it. Thank you for your opinion.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice theme, and I liked the mood that was set. A little simplistic in terms of gameplay, and some of the "Press down arrow rapidly" bits were tiresome rather than fun.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Got stuck at the boulder room about facing fears.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38pm

More checkpoints, please! Repeating sections in the first level is annoying, partially because of the long walking at the start.

I liked the use of the mechanics to tell us something.

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Glad to see another LD entry that used Kongregate for the Web version. Other than webhost; I think our works couldn't be more different though. Yours has a focus on level design puzzles and theme, which works strongly, where I had more of an art and technical focus. My only complaint is at the 'Press Down Rapidly' requests. I gave you a 5/5 on Kong. I particularly like the theme and storytelling you used.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

danbo : Face your fears! that is the the answer , just face it :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

You really nailed the mood and that music is so good!
great work!

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I like the sounds and the collision management, congratulations for your work!! A long story and a good game mechanics

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice story, good mood and music!
"Pressing down rapidly" isn't very fun though, especially since there wasn't any feedback that indicates anything's actually happening.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice, easy-ish platform with some quirks. Great music.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21am

There were some leaps of faith where you couldn't see what you were jumping to. Otherwise, nice relaxing music. Cool game.

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54am

Nice mood and FX. I got stuck after getting the bandage of Hope...

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice game! I had to come back and review it after the level changing bug was fixed. I liked the take on theme and the puzzles that were presented. Nice job!

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:41am

I like the story and the music really set the mood

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:59pm

really smart game. I liked the way you tell the story trough gameplay. good job

Sanguine says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:33pm

The jumping could be worked on, but the mood was good.

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:46am

Nice mood and good story :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

A lot of creativity here. But you did some things that really frustrated me as a player. I felt it was unfair of you to make me jump in the dark and establish that if I messed up I would die, and have to start all over. This established the rules of the game.

Then those rules were broken. I had to faithjump into a brick wall hoping it was secretly passable. Next, you put me next to some spikes, but they also didn't follow the rules. I nearly quit three times missing jumps and having to restart, so it seemed really unfair to make me faithjump and faithspikewalk, risking a brutal restart punishment.

Later, in the bandage area with more fogiving restarts, it was more okay to bend the rules... but you still forced me to jump blindly into a pit to get a bandage.

I understand this was an artistic manipulation of the player and his expectations, and you're expressing the trials the heart may make you go through, and I did play the game to the finish, but I felt unfairly manipulated and abused. Perhaps that was the artistic goal, though.

At any rate, it was pretty interesting and I did finish it all, so good job even if I personally disagree with the treatment.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I had some collision problems. I also thought the choice of music was a little odd, I was thinking about watching a romantic movie where two people are about to have sex too often. Checkpoint system would have been great as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]