December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Man

by Thingus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In these tought economics times, we cannot allow aliens to harvest the resources of the desert unopposed. That's why we called you, General. We are confident that you will achieve victory with the resources we have allocated to you.

Controls:
LMB to move
Mouse scrolls screen
Push against crystals to mine (when in mining mode)
Touch bases to re-equip

Known bugs:
-Occasionally, the player and enemy will get caught in each other (EDIT: Fixed with a kludge)
-The camera will not automatically center on the unit; at the moment, you have to find him yourself.
-Possibly fixed, but you can get stuck on the menu screen.

So, this was my first LD going solo instead of the Jam. I used Game Maker: Tizen Edition for everything, including spritework, and all code is my own (including the menu function, and that took waaaay longer than it needed to). It's been a real education; this is my first time using game maker, the first game I've seen through to playability and my first real dev project in around two years. Apologies for the GM-quality art and use of particle effects to cover said art up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#557Theme2.76
#759Fun2.47
#766Innovation2.47
#815Overall2.59
#960Graphics1.76
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11am

Antivirus got the shits with this, Give me a shout if you find a way not to set it off.

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

What AV are you using? I've heard AVG takes issue with GMPro every few months; I'll see what I can do.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Game worked for me.
Congratulations on your finished entry. You did it. You made a game on your own. :)

Some critique:
Game felt very buggy. Once I got stuck with an alien and could not do anything further. Bullets were still drawn.
Graphics (both gameplay graphics and interface) could need a bit more work.

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Unfortunately I got a little stuck, think there's some major bugs. Well done for doing everything alone though, good job overall!

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Slightly buggy, but very interesting and a great first time!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40am

Interesting approach to the theme, very good job! Keep working!

Ace says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

A nice idea behind this, though the camera resetting to the top left every time you exit a store was annoying. Maybe you should've added more weapons and made it more obvious when you hurt something too. I ran around and checked several other houses because I thought I wasn't hurting the ship at first, then I just left the soldier standing by it for a while.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice idea, liked the camera control. Kept it nice and focused.
It was a bit jarring that I had to rebuy my pickaxe/gun/boots if I wanted to use them.

multikorv says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:15am

A bit buggy, some sound would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]