December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One

by Xavier - Jam Entry

Yet Another PuzzleScript Game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1678Coolness14%

Comments

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Very satisfying puzzler! Love the graphics.

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:14am

Thanks! playing at the first time with PuzzleScript was a bit difficult at the beginning, but after all it allows to you stay focused on the design of the puzzles instead of libraries, debugging, mistakes...

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Fun little puzzles, I really liked it a lot! I enjoyed how you were able to scale them in difficulty and keep twisting the core idea. I also liked the ability to "rewind", its a great concept, good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Love the puzzle. Nice Game :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Ha! Nice one. I like all the references to other games. Also made me use my brain.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:25pm

nice work, clever puzzles and good humor.

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:10pm

That was a nice puzzle game!
Cute blocky graphics and I also like that not all levels were the same size (I also thought about it, but had no time to implement it).
Good sound effects. They sounded 'blocky' too.
The last level took me some time. Nice puzzles but not brain breaking hard.
The undo mechanism worked very very good. It was a good way to try stuff and then go back.
It made your game a lot faster than mine, I see your point: my player was slow and if you made a mistake you had to redo the complete level in its slow pace. Maybe I can implement a kind of undo functionality in my game (have you played the compo or post compo version of my game? the post compo version is the same but faster).
The last level was a bit buggy. One of the two ladders would sometimes disappear if my friend and me were both picking it up. And one time ghost image of a ladder I picked up (in grey) would be left behind although I still had the ladder.
But that might be a bug of puzzlescript.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:49am

Thanks goerp for your feedbacks :) I saw you made a new version where you increased the movement speed. I played it again and runs better for me than the first version. The undo in your game needs to be improved I guess. Your game is pretty well done (I love the concept) and I think you will give iit a little bit more of development (new graphics, backgrounds, better animation cycle)

Haha... You right! there's some buggies on the game and I'm sure is my fault nor PuzzleScript :)

Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Super coooool! I love puzzle script games and this is really clever! Well done.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

Very interesting. You made it with PuzzleScript? Nice to discover new tools...

Xavier says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:42am

Yep! it was made with PuzzleScript. I recommend it!

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:52pm

There were some pretty good levels in this one! Nice work! :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:47am

Neat little puzzle game. Took me a minute to figure out the ladder. I gave up on the stage with the ladder and three blocks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]