December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just One More Turn (Please!)

by Ithildin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a one-turn-based strategy game implemented in Unity 4.3.

Lead your (green) units to the victory by getting rid of all the enemy units (coloured in red). However, take into account that they have only one turn (movement does not count, unless you get stuck by moving somewhere where you can't do anything).

Controls: Click to select a unit, then click on an empty allowed cell to move it and finally click on an enemy to attack.

I have mixed feelings about the game. As usual, it's got much less than the originally planned features, but in this case it's probably even less than that :S. At least I managed to submit.

Stay connected for the postmortem!

Tools
======
Unity 3D
Photoshop
Bfxr
Autotracker

EDIT: Removed MacOS version. Added "Tools" section to the notes.

EDIT 6/11/2016: Updated web link, because of dropbox changes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#201Theme3.44
#317Innovation3.17
#360Humor2.57
#436Fun2.94
#523Mood2.71
#539Overall2.96
#588Graphics2.75
#614Audio2.25

Comments

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

Great game! Responsive, thoughtful and very well paced.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Think it crashed a few rounds in. Big fan of Fire Emblem, so i'm gonna give this a good score :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The texts at the beginning go a bit too fast for my tired brain, but other than that it's great. Quite addicting!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Haha, love the idea! A one turn, turn-based game :P Has something comical to it as well. The music and sound were a pain though. The game itself was challenging and pretty fun.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Interesting idea for a mechanic. I'd like a way to skip levels I've beaten, or at least the intro. Fun to play, overall.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Absolutely love it. A little easy though, but I guess that if there were more levels the difficulty would get higher.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42am

You really got a new point of view of the theme! I love RPGs and it's amazing how it reminds me of the retro ones! Really fun :D Good Job!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I really like the game! It's not buggy, it works, and more importantly... it's fun! And it contains strategy, which I always like! Really nice made.

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very nice one, I love strategy games! It's very easy to understand and to play. And the background images are beautiful! Congrats!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I really liked the hand drawn style of the backgrounds? A nice simple mechanic well implemented. Nice work :)
Were there only 3 levels or did it crash on me? I played through twice.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I liked the idea. Would have liked it more if it was a bit harder though. Don't know if it crashed or it is just supposed to end when finishing level three.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Should be able to skip the instructions.

I thought the attack area would show the square you could attack after you move, so that confused me a bit.

It didn't seem to have much challenge to it though. Maybe if after you moved 1 unit the enemy moved one unit it would be more interesting.

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01am

Game got stuck after few levels (with some trees in the background) - Victory text is shown and that's about everything.

I like the idea, but (unless I missed more interested stuff later after the hangup) it's not challenging at all.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice entry, good job (:

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

Hi all! First, thanks for the feedback! It's much appreciated.

I'm afraid most of you who've complained about the lack of challenge are right. If you take a look at the postmortem I'm totally not spamming about right now, I'm aware that there are sadly too few levels, and gameplay is a bit sparse.
For example, the enemies' attack areas are there because I'd planned for the possibility of enemy moves and counters, but in the end couldn't properly define when or how they would do it and I ran out of the time. I should have taken those cues out to decrease confusion. There are some more control/ui issues that I have in mind that could have improved the experience, but they'll have to remain on the wishlist for a hypothetic v2.0

I need to take a look at what seems to be a crash. There was at least one level with the second background, and upon completing it you would go back to the start screen. Also, the music is not looping, which probably means that I forgot to set one parameter's value. As it's not a particularly inspiring track I doubt that many of you will miss it ;D

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Honestly I thought this had some trick to it so I kept failing the first tutorial, but then I realized it was just exactly like any Tactics game... I was kinda disappointed. Didn't really take much strategy at all, so I was over-thinking it. I don't mean to sound too harsh, it's cool you got a tactics-type game working in 48 hours :D But it would've been really nice to see some twist other than only one turn.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Don't worry about sounding harsh, you don't. And, actually, I agree with you. As it is right now the game is basically a clickfest and you can "solve" the puzzles in a matter of seconds. Their lack of difficulty would make sense as part of a 100, 200+ levels game to teach the basics to the player, but it doesn't work so good with, well, 5.

I do believe that the combination of tactics plus the one-turn twist could work fine as part of a more complete design, though, but to be sure of that I'd have to actually finish implementing that core functionality first. It could be interesting to try it :)

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:39pm

nice idea. it takes a while to figure things out, but i managed to win!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21am

Great game! It would be nice to be able to skip the intro though, but the concept is fun, you just forgot to loop the music... Anyway, good job! :)

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:50am

Well I like the concept. I mean to me it seems like chess problems, but using tactical RPG-like rules. "Find the optimal way to deal the max damage to the enemy".
That's interestng :) Could have been done better I guess but I like the idea. I wish there were more levels, with a higher difficulty, of course.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:01am

Challenging game ! Cool music too !

van noctar says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Good gameplay! However it's so easy ! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]