December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Trip To The Moon

by Dayko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"A single shot for this kid to go on the moon..."

A relaxing game made with Unity3D. My second participation to a LD.
Hope you'll enjoy ;) !


[EDIT] Due to a lack of time, I cut the end of the game sooner than expected... The grey/white fade-out means it's the end, no bug here ^^.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Mood3.88
#35Audio3.70
#184Graphics3.64
#212Overall3.38
#412Fun2.98
#475Innovation2.95
#559Humor2.11
#633Theme2.62
#998Coolness48%

Comments

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

The starting presentation is fantastic! Nice mood!

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

woah... those graphics... that music... great job

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

The little twinkle sound when you make it through the gates is very satisfying :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Really nice little game. Love the graphics, music, amd mood. Its really, really nice. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice mood and graphics, well done.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very calming, and charming graphics and especially audio!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

All I kept thinking about was the player farting stars on the way to the moon. :) nice job!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15am

That intro was amazing, great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

Really good! (:

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34am

Loaded partway for me and then just failed to load :(

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41am

great game-pacing with the particles and speed boost squares.. cute intro sequence and accompanying music track. well done!

JackBid says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06am

I love the music and graphics. Game play is good but could maybe be longer!

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10am

Very nice. Some gates are virtually impossible to hit though!

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

Cool stuff, but when I got to the moon my screen just turned grey.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04am

Woah! The feeling of flying is awesome in this game. Great music too!

romandtom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice game :)
The mood is perfect for the idea and the name

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03am

Sparkly!

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Really nice presentation and mood.

Not challenging, but that's not what the game aims to be.

If I can express an opinion as a designer, imho the fact that the "checkpoints" are squares makes it dubious to the player whether he should get inside them or not. Since I am colourblind, I could not understand if it was green or red, therefore I had no idea if I would have died hitting the first one.

Nice game, although not really fitting with theme.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nice atmosphere :)

Dayko says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18pm

@Everyone => Thanks for your nice comments! (& video!)

For the end, I didn't have enough time to finish a satisfying landing on the moon, so I quickly replaced it at the last minute with a simple grey/white fade-out :).

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Very cool intro. I was instantly reminded of the "master of the lamps" in my C=64 and additionally "The Little Prince". I would have also expected a landing, but as you already explained it is not always possible to implement everything you want. Nice work with nice music.
For me the mouse control was a little bit too slow to get through all hoops. And sometimes I was confused which is the next. Maybe a fading (fog) effect to the distance would help here...
Keep on the good work.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Slightly eccentric but the start made me crack up xD

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great game! It was a nice trip!
Not sure if I made it to the end or if the game just crashed, tho'.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nicely done! Very satisfying sound effects, particularly the cannon, and the graphics are great too. A little unclear what's happening at the end..?

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:21pm

That was such a cute & laid back game. I really enjoyed it all. Well done.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Beautiful music. Nice atmosphere.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Beautiful and fun! Great game.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Kinda hard to control with the mouse and the offset camera makes it hard to know if your lined up correctly with a gate. I did really enjoy the music and the boost when you go through a gate, good job!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Playing this is the perfect activity, after a weekend like this :)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I liked the model for the moon, and your right the music does make it kinda relaxing!

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

The music make a nice atmosphere!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]