December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Schrodinger's Kitten

by Spelchan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game-show like game where you try to find as many living kittens (zombie kittens count as half, dead kittens don't count) as you can in the 10 rounds. Meets the theme multiple times as you can only pick one door each round, only get one kitten each round, and ultimately only get one chance to win the show (unless you cheat).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#219Humor3.00
#661Audio2.08
#664Theme2.58
#837Innovation2.31
#841Mood2.21
#892Fun2.19
#941Graphics1.89
#948Overall2.31
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10am

Ah, this demonstrates that weird Monty Hall probability problem. The golden kitten will be mine!

Would have loved a zombie kitten meow sound effect.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

Nice voiceovers. Side note - You misspelled "received."

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Cool idea and mixture of monty hall and schrodinger cat :P Laughed at "it has to do with letting blind people open the box". Cool voiceovers. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Turns out my intensely well thought out strategy of choosing the same door every time bit me in the ass. Also, it proved my Stats teacher wrong for telling me you always have worse odds if you switch your choice after being shown one door.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:40pm

So changing does improve your chances, right? First you have a 33% chance, 2nd time a 50% chance to get it right... or did I make a logical error? :)

darkblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I won, but I was aware of the trick. I'm a little disappointed that I did not have the option to not open the door so that I could obtain the living, dead and zombie kitten simultaneously, or some other weird quantum physics stuff...

Katamori says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

Solid, enjoyable, not hard, glad for narrating the texts!

(and yeah, maybe way less clicking than my game... ;P)

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:43am

Looks like you forgot to upload the source!

A fun simple game that I'll have to show to people that don't understand probabilty! :D

I got toothpaste :C

Spelchan says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

@Jezzamon you had better look better in the future. If you go to the game page, there is a link in the overview section labeled "Source code is here." This link is a zip file that contains the flash source code (the .fla file).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]